Why me, Lord?

I was sitting here this morning working on a new song, which hopefully I can share with you soon, and a thought popped into my head.  Why does God love me?  Why has He blessed me with a marvelous wife for 38 years, three wonderful daughters, 5 grandchildren, a house, a job, friends, a good church – the list of blessings goes on and on.  Why did He call me out of my sin and save my soul, free me from bondage, prepare a heavenly home for me, fill me with His Holy Spirit, and give me gifts and fruit with which to witness?  Why me, Lord?

The truth is there is no earthly reason He would!  I don’t deserve any of it.  I don’t deserve His forgiveness for the things I have done in the past, or the mistakes I will make as I continue on in life.  I don’t deserve His mercy in those situations where I err.  I don’t deserve His grace that spares me from harm by the Holy Spirit quietly talking to my spirit about dangers that may approach.  I don’t deserve His love, peace, joy and hope – which are so abundant.

Yet He gives it anyway.  Because He originally created man to have fellowship with Him, and when Adam sinned, that fellowship was broken.  So He sent Jesus, His only Son, to die on the cross and restore that fellowship.  That is God’s Love (John 3:16). And this love is for anyone who believes in Jesus (Romans 10:9-10, 13).  And all the other blessings come alongside.

But then I start to wonder if there isn’t a little more to it than that.  What does He want me to do with this love?  I believe I am just a conduit of  that love – it should flow right through me to everyone I meet.  I should forgive others, bless others, pray for others, help whenever I can help, and do whatever I can to show the love of God to those around me.  Just like God has done for me, so should I do for others.

This is where I lack in my life.  Oh, I do some of it, and try to do my best, and God honors that.  But I can do better.  There are times when I find myself getting into some gossip, or backbiting, or jealousy, or pride, or demeaning words.  That needs to stop!  God never said evil about me – what gives me any right to say evil about others.  My job is to edify and build up those around me (Eph 4:29).

Simply put, he chose me so I could disciple others.  And he chose you for that reason as well.  Let’s get to work!

2 thoughts on “Why me, Lord?

Leave a Reply

