Christian, Witness

Amazing Changes

I am currently undergoing treatment for Multiple Myeloma cancer at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.  This cancer is a member of the Leukemia/Lymphoma family of the disease, and the best method for combatting it is a stem cell transplant.  We chose this facility because they are  very aggressive and have been very successful..  Instead of just doing one stem cell transplant, the do two right up front, 2 months apart, and boast a 50% survival rate at 10 years – no other facility will even talk about 10 yeas out.

I am amazed at the technology involved, and the God given wisdom of the doctors and nurses.  I was diagnosed in March of this year, and in May I went through a week of Chemo before they harvested my own stem cells.  I  my wife and I then stayed at a nearby hotel for a week before the harvest to get the Chemo out of my system

Then we went in to the hospital each day so they could harvest my stem cells to be used for the transplant.   Here they harvest 2o million, other places typically do 2 million.  It took three days hooked up to a machine that cycled my blood through and pulled out stem cells.  My wife looked into a portal to the machine and was fascinated at the whirling cells and how they got separated.

We then went home for three weeks to gain strength for the first transplant in June.  Two days of chemo preceded that, then the transplant was a fairly simple procedure, like a regular blood transfusion.    I had few problems, but none of the typical side effects.  The  biggest problem, and it is a big one, is that I developed a rare shoulder ailment called Parsonage Turner Syndrome.  My right shoulder does no am learning to cope with it.  They say it can take 6 months to 3 years to fix, and it typically resolves itself.    I believe God can shorten that.

I am amazed that they can do such things.  Changing my blood out and giving me a brand new blood supply, ridding me of a deadly cancer that just a few years ago I would have been given 2 years max.  The advances of medicine are wondrous to partake in.

But nothing compares to what Jesus did on the cross for me.  I was a drunk and a drug user, caught up in a world of sin and cursing God at every turn, and he still He called me.  He used a friend to gently prod me with scripture.  He spurred me to come to Iowa to visit, and got me into that church.  And in a moment, He turned my stone cold heart into a fresh new heart.  He applied His shed blood to my sin and washed me white as snow.  He took the stripes on His back for my healing.  He wore the crown of thorns to heal m corrupted mind.  And He purchased my salvation for all time.

It is an amazing change He supplied for me.  And I will praise Him for the rest of my life.  I believe a powerful testimony is about to be written, and as an evangelist, I will take that testimony with me wherever I go and tell of the wonderful love Jesus has for all of mankind.  I will write the songs He gives me, and sing them to the masses.  God is on the throne, and He loves you.  Jesus is calling to make you His own.  There is nothing that compares to walking into that love.  Accept Him today as Lord of your life, and see what this amazing change can do for you.

1 thought on “Amazing Changes”

Leave a Reply

