Christian, Witness

Can Cowboys be Nurses?

Call me simplistic, but I have these images in mind when I think of Cowboys.  The first that comes to mind is the Marlboro Man, a silhouette to a long forgotten tobacco ad from many years ago.  Rugged enduring,facing the troubles of the day with confidence.  I see John Wayne, or Jimmie Stewart, or Gene Autrey, fighting off the bad guys as they roamed the wild west.  I don’t think there’s a school where you learn cowboy stuff..  It’s learned in the doing of the tacl, with the help of mentors aomg the way.

Today, I see radio circuit riders, roping cattle, riding barrels, bucking broncos and taming bulls.  All of these men have many things in common.  They are tough, rugged, not afraid to get hurt and not afraid to be tackle anything that comes their way.  That’s a cowboy to me.

Nurses are a special .  2-4 years of schooling, from what I can read, is the required length of formal education you must take to earn this degree.  Prerequisite classes must be completed before you can even apply to a nursing program.  At any time after that, you can get your nursing license.  That’s a lot of school, in my opinion.

Seeing what the nurses do around here, the nurses are amazing.  There are so many levels of nursing, each requiring specialized skills and more schooling.  They are amazing people who work under a lot of pressure, and have to put up with people who can be very demanding and need their full attention.  They have to remember little details about each patient, and make sure things are done in the right order, at the right time.  And they have to give shots, draw blood, hook up IV’s and all that stuff that I could not even think of doing.

Two vastly different lifestyles.  Both take training that is way beyond my scope of expertise,  Both take willingness to risk oneself.  Both take extreme attention to detail.  Both are wonderful things to be.  And both could change their profession at a moments notice if they really put their mind and heart into it.  Or they could actually do both at the same time, wouldn’t you agree?

That brings this to me.  I sell Insurance, and I attacked it with zeal, running up some good numbers in my first year.  I have trained under some of the best training in the country to be a good insurance agent.  When I got sick last fall and had to start taking time off, those skills started to deteriorate, and I realize that when I get well again, I will need to go through training all over again.  No problem, I can do that.

But I have a second, much more important profession that a rarely claim when asked.  I am an ambassador for the Most High God.  I have been trained by the Master to make disciples of all men  I have been commissioned to go out into the highways and byways and compel them to come in. The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; (Is 61:1-2).

Why do I hide this profession on the back burner?  I need to be as diligent in proclaiming this profession as being an insurance agent: actually even more so because this has eternal; consequences.  I am a licensed evangelist for the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and it’s time more people know about that occupation of mine.  I am convinced that this trial of cancer will bring about a glorious testimony of deliverance and healing that he wants me to take to the masses, and win souls for the kingdom of Heaven.

What about you?  If you are a born again Christian He is calling you into service as well.  Are you [properly equipped?  Are your vital signs strong  (see my previous days post)?  Are you praying for the sick, delivering the captive, teaching and making disciples?  It’s a call on all of our lives, and it’s time to take it seriously, at least for me.  Let’s do ths!

 

 

Leave a Reply

