Christian, Devotional, Psalms

A Recipe for Success

You probably wonder where I’ve been.   The last entry in my blog was Sunday, when I vowed to start doing better with my devotional life, and post some thoughts on my reading here. Well, I got out of the hospital Sunday after as second stem cell transplant and went to my daughters house for a couple days until the follow up visit.   Monday I was very sick, the worst day I’ve had through this whole process.  Tuesday and Wednesday were better, but still feeling lousy.  This morning, I am feeling better and stronger Praise God.  Hopefully now I can begin to get into the word and share with you as I said I would.

After praying about where to start, I was led to the Psalms.  Since I am a writer of poems and psalms my self, I think this is fitting.  The Lord has led me to write over 700 songs, psalms of praise and poems over the last 6 years, and I know He is not done yet.

So let’s start in Psalm 1:

Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away.

Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.

For the Lord knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.

 

This is a lot to comment on in one day, so II will try to keep it brief.  Upon reading this, I have to ask myself how I am doing on the points in verses 1&2.  Whose counsel do I listen to?  I do my nest to listen for the Holy Spirit when I need council on heavier matters, and I listen to the experts when it comes to my business.  But do I bow to peer pressure?  Rarely.

Do I stand in the way of sinners?  I see two ways to take this admonition.  The first is the one most think of – do I live and associate with sinners on a regular basis, or is my fellowship with the saints.  We have to have some time around sinners, or we will never have a chance to witness to them.  But David is saying we should not be spending a majority of our time with them.  I am not a social person, so this one is not a problem for me.

The second meaning I see in this is that we should not stand in a sinners way when he is trying to come to the Lord.  We should do all we can to help him get there.  On this count, i am not doing so well.  I see myself judging people on what I see instead of looking for their heart.  I make my own decision on whether they would be open to the gospel instead of just presenting it to them.  I must work on this aspect, and be a better witness for my Lord.

Sitting in the seat of the scornful is also not a problem for me.  I tend to be an upbeat person always looking on the sunny side of life.  I stay away from gossip and putting people down.  After all, I have a Heavenly Father who loves me,!  What can I possibly be scornful about?

I love the word, but as I have said, I am not in it regularly, so I fall short on verse 2.  I must work on this part of my life.  I know the scripture pretty well, so am able to pray using scripture, and meditate on His word daily, but I am not in the word, and I need to do that.

So I have some areas to work on, and with God’s help I am going to do that.  I think this blog has gone long enough today, so I will come back to Psalm 1 tomorrow.

 

2 thoughts on “A Recipe for Success”

Leave a Reply

