Well Watered

I live in Iowa, a big farming state.  Through the years, farmers have cleared more and more of the land to increase the amount of corn and soybeans they produce.  As a result Iowa leads the nation every year in both soybean and corn production.  Our farmers take great pride in that fact, and work hard it keep t that way!

One of the results of clearing all that land is hard to miss.  In most places, you can see exactly where the rivers run!  This is because that is where the trees are.  They line up along both sides of the river.  They grow tall and strong because they are well watered by those rivers.

This brings us back to Psalm 1, verse 3.  Yesterday we looked at the Recipe for success in verses 1 and 2.  Today in verse 3, we look at the resulting blessing that coke sour way when we follow through with that recipe.

Psalm 1:3

And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

What a wonderful blessing this verse is.  We can know that if we follow God’s direction, given in verses 1 and 2, that this verse will then be applied to our lives.And what do these blessings mean to me?

First, I will bring forth fruit in due season.  I take this two ways.  First, the fruit of the Spirit will be alive and working in my life. We fing these fruit in Galatians 5:22-23:

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,

23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

When I live my life full of this fruit, then I will also be fruitful in winning souls to Christ.  This is a double blessing.

Second, My leaf shall not wither.  This is a promise of health and long life in my mind.  I trust Him to heal me from any disease or sickness, and extend my years until He decides to take me home.  There is no fear of death, or an early demise.  he is in control.

Third, everything I do will prosper.  It is up to me to be out there doing something.  I can’t expect God to prosper me if II sit around and do nothing.  And that prosperity might not be seen by me.  I write poetry, and post it on my website and on Facebook.. I have no idea who it touches, and if there are some who are saved or blessed by the words God gives me.  I just make sure I post them.  The word tells me that His word, coming out of my mouth, will not return void (IS 55:11).  Hallelujah!

So my duty is to do verses 1 and 2, and God will take care of verse 3.  Lord, help me every day to get this done!

 

 

Leave a Reply

