Christian, Devotional

When God Laughs

ask-of-mePsalm 2 is intriguing because it contrasts the believer with the heathen,and tells us what God will do with each.  And it sure does turn out good for us!  Let’s read.  1 Why do the heathen rage, and the people imagine a vain thing?

Boy, do we see this in our society today.  Riots, demonstrations, anti-God sentiments – they abound in our world. And we see the ungodly chasing after worthless things continually.  I think the enemy of our souls wants to keep them busy with these things so they won’t think about their wretched estate.

The kings of the earth set themselves, and the rulers take counsel together, against the Lord, and against his anointed, saying,

Let us break their bands asunder, and cast away their cords from us.

I think most who read this blog will acknowledge that Christians are under attack, and our first amendment rights are being swallowed up more and more.  It was prayer in schools first, but it has gotten much worse.  Pastors can’t share their political viewpoint from the pulpit, christian symbols are being removed all over the place, no prayer at commencements –  the list is endless.  The kings are breaking the bands that hold the church together, and casting them from their own lives.

He that sitteth in the heavens shall laugh: the Lord shall have them in derision , and sore displeasure

What a wonderful statement – God laughs at all this.  He is not worried about it like I am/  Truth is He has already given me the answer on how to overcome this onslaught.  2 Chronicles 7:14: If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land. 

The trouble is, I don’t want to do it!  I have a strong desire to  be more humble,  I don’t take near enough time to pray and seek His face, and I have turned from most of my wicked ways -m some things just hang onto me still.  How about you?  God  is just waiting for us to do our part.

Yet have I set my king upon my holy hill of Zion.

I will declare the decree: the Lord hath said unto me, Thou art my Son; this day have I begotten thee.

Ask of me, and I shall give thee the heathen for thine inheritance, and the uttermost parts of the earth for thy possession.

Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron; thou shalt dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.

These are great promises that God will deliver us from our enemies.  He has put His King in place, and is ready to give us the heathen and break them from any authority over us.

10 Be wise now therefore, O ye kings: be instructed, ye judges of the earth.

11 Serve the Lord with fear, and rejoice with trembling.

12 Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and ye perish from the way, when his wrath is kindled but a little. Blessed are all they that put their trust in him.

The last admonition in this Psalm is a strong one.  We must be wise and serve the Lord with fear.  Not an afraid fear, but fear as a sign of reverence.  We must put our trust in Him if we expect to be blessed.  After all, He is the one true God, and He is in complete control.

After spending some time reflecting on this Psalm, I realize more than ever that my duty is to do what God has asked, nothing more.  I fall short there.  I know the word, yet I don;t live it as I should.  Lord, I pray you will help me do those things that will bring about a change not just in my life, but in this country, and around the world

Leave a Reply

