The Lifter of my Head

As we proceed to Psalm 3, once again we see David discussing his enemies.  Sometimes we think David lived a charmed life, but when we read the scriptures we see he was continually in some kind of conflict.   In fact, two of his enemies were King Saul and his own son Absalom.  If God would allow David to have all this conflict in his life,what makes us think we will be spared?  As we read this passage, let’s take David’s attitude – trust in the Lord, because He wiil take care of our enemies for us.

1 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.

Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.

I know people who think they have been deserted and left to figure out life all by them selves.  It’s not a fun place to be.  Others are saying there is no hope – he was born bad and nothing will change him.  But those of us who know Jesus know that this just not true.  The message of the gospel can change anyone.

But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

Verses 3 and 4 make up a popular worship chorus from many years ago.  Actually, I can think of two songs that come out of this.  Being a worship leader, I enjoy using songs that come right from scripture.  It seems there is anointing on them that lifts people a bit higher.

God is a shield about me.  What a wonderful thought.  I need to remember that when I am in a trial or test.  He is protecting me from anything that I can’t handle.  He also is the lifter of my head.  Do you ever need your head lifted?  I do.  Sometimes I get down on myself, or on life, and I need someone to come and lift my chin up.  God will do that for us!

I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

David ends this short Psalm by reaffirming that God will take care of his enemies.   He does not have to fear.  He knows his salvation is in the Lord, and nothing will shake him.

I want to be n that place, and most of the time, I think I am.  I know the Lord has this cancer under control.  I trust him implicitly, and know He will see me through, because my salvation is in the Lord!  So I will not fear or dread – He is lifting my head, and II woll sing His praise!

Leave a Reply

