Lay me Down in Peace

lay-me-down-in-peacePsalm 4

1 Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer.

O ye sons of men, how long will ye turn my glory into shame? how long will ye love vanity, and seek after leasing? Selah.

Once again, we see David calling to God in the middle of distress.  What a great lesson this is to me, knowing that I can call on Him over and over again, and He will be there for me.  David likes to use the  word enlarged )Hebrew word Rachab – used 6 times in the Psalms), and here he says God enlarged him in the middle of that distress – God filled him up more so he could deal with his enemies. David asks for mercy in his trouble, knowing God is a God! of mercy.

But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him.

I love this verse!  If I live in Christs  righteousness, I am set apart to God and He will hear my prayer!  Do I know that I am set apart to God?  The bible says my righteousness is as filthy rags (Is 64:6), and that Christ is my righteousness (I Cor 1:30, Phi 3:9).  Since I have put my faith in Jesus Christ, God sees me as righteous, as long as I don’t linger in sin.

Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah.

I should stand in awe of the fact that He sees Christ’s  righteousness in me.  This is grace at it’s  fullest, and extreme mercy.  But David admonishes me to inspect my heart to make sure I am not living in sin.  Jeremiah tells us that the heart is deceitful (Jer 17:9).  While I should be careful to trust my decisions in life to my heart, I must regularly examine my heart to make sure my motives are right (James 4:8)

Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

he sacrifices of righteousness – what is that?  Well, sometimes God calls us to do things that are outside of our comfort zone,or seem impossible at the time.  He might ask me to do this often, or only seldom.  Whatever the frequency, I pray I always listen and obey.  I’m not quite there yet.

I remember way back when I first moved to Iowa.  MY wife and I were about to be married.  We attended a church service where there was a missionary preaching.  he had dire need of an SUV to further His outreach, and was taking upon offering.  We had little money, but I distinctly heard the Lord say to put $200 in the offering, so I did.  It actually gave me a negative balance n my checking account, but I trusted God.  The very next day I received a check from my former employer and a note which said this was the vested amount of my 401K – it was several thousand dollars.  I had totally forgotten this was coming, and we rejoiced greatly in God’s faithfulness that night.  But it was truly a sacrifice when I gave it.

There be many that say, Who will shew us any good? Lord, lift thou up the light of thy countenance upon us.

Jesus told us to be the light of the world (Matt 5:14-17) that He might be glorified.   David understood that He needed to shine the light into a dark world where men put down those that are following the Lord, and people were harsh to those who tried to do good.  Things are backward in our society today as well.  But if I will follow after what God calls me to do, I can make a difference in my circle of acquaintances and you can make a difference in yours.  After a short while, we can change our world;.  But it takes all of us!

Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

Even gladder than harvest time!  This is an amazing statement for those days, because farming was the major source of income.  IT was a time of celebration, joy and much praise to God.  David, in the middle of his distress, had a gladness like that.  Shouldn’t I?

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

Because of his attitude  and his supreme trust in God, David could lay down in peace at night, no matter what he was going through.  I wish I could say the same!  I am not complaining, because I often don;t sleep well at night.  I currently am slowly on the mend from a stem cell transplant, and am still trying to find out why my right arm is not working properly from the shoulder.  I have osteopathy in my feet and upper abdomen.  And I don’t sleep well.

But it’s not because I don’t have peace.  I truly do trust them Lord that all is going to be according to His plan, and I will await patiently for Him to heal me, if H chooses to do so.

I just have too much on my mind.  Often it is a song that I have to get down, sometimes it is this next Psalm for my blog and sometimes it’s just random things that pop into my head.  I am always thankful for the sleep I get, and also thankful that at this time, I can sleep during the day if I need to.  He has been so merciful to me.

 

Lord, you know my every step.  You watch over me all the time.  Help me to know you are near, and to do those things which are pleasing to you and will build your church.  Help me to get a better nights sleep.  Help me to pray for those I know need your touch, and for those you bring to my mind that I might now know their need.  You are he difference maker Lord – help me to lead people to you who need a difference maker in their lives.

Leave a Reply

