Righteous vs. Wickedness

Psalm 5 is a beautiful assertion to the goodness of God to the righteous and His plans for the evil ones.  It bounces back and forth between the two groups as David points out God’s heart towards the opposing sides.  My comments will probably do the same

1 Give ear to my words, O Lord, consider my meditation.

Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray.

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

David starts out by asking God to hear His cry and His prayers.  This really struck me this morning.  I have no doubt that David knew God would hear his prayer, yet he asks Him anyway.  Me, I just start in praying, assuming God will hear my voice.  Now, I believe I can do this because Jesus said He will hear His sheep, and many verses in the Bible tell us God will hear our cry (Jeremiah 33:3 comes to the top of my mind).

But isn’t it polite to first ask God to listen?  I mean, after all, He is the creator of the universe, the one true God,  omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent!  I think I may change the way I pray – I like Davd’s approach.  He even tells God when he will be praying on a regular basis.  That’s a good time – in the morning.  I would say early morning.

For thou art not a God that hath pleasure in wickedness: neither shall evil dwell with thee.

The foolish shall not stand in thy sight: thou hatest all workers of iniquity.

Thou shalt destroy them that speak leasing: the Lord will abhor the bloody and deceitful man.

Here we see what David perceives God will do to those who do wickedness , the foolish, and those that speak falsehoods, and those who are shed blood.  It’s interesting to me that he groups these to together.  These are all acts of unrighteousness.  Most of us understand the first one and the last one rally belong here, but foolishness and speaking falsehood?

Well, let’s look at those two.  Foolishness can take on many different faces.  First there is the fool who says there is no God (Prov 14:1).  There are those who think God’s wisdom is foolishness, but they are perishing (1 Cor 3:18)  Then there are those who think there wisdom is better than God’s – but it is foolishness (1 Cor 3:19).  These last two groups turn God;s word, the Holy Bible, into a buffet, where you can pick and choose what you want to obey and not obey.  And you will hear them constantly say not to take God literally – He didn’t really mean that.  I’m quite sure that;s a foolish thing to say when reading God’s word.

Those who speak falsehood are gossiper, talebearers and backbiters in other parts of the bible.  All three groups do harm to others through their words, and God hates that (Prov 6:16-19).  Sowing discord is a very bad thing.  I hope none of you have ever done that!  I have, and it hurst when I look back on it, knowing God hated that act.  He has forgiven me, and it is something I hope I never get caught up in again

But as for me, I will come into thy house in the multitude of thy mercy: and in thy fear will I worship toward thy holy temple.

Lead me, O Lord, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make thy way straight before me

Here, David appeals to God’s mercy as he enters into the presence of God.  Again, I need to do this more.  I sometimes come to expect His mercy, because He has always been merciful to me before, and He promises mercy to me.  It is refreshing to see David acknowledge that he needs that mercy before coming to God.  I need to ask for His mercy more.

He enters into worship in fear –  awestruck fear.  I see many who lack this today.  Worship has become a time of entertainment to many.  The love the music, clap their hands, and sing loud.  I think sometimes we forget who exactly it is we are worshiping!    This is GOD we are talking about.  He parted the Red Sea, led by cloud and fire in the wilderness, parted the Jordan, knocked down the walls of Jericho, saved Daniel in the lions den – the list goes on forever.  When we come to worship, let’s remember that.

He then asks God to lead Him and make his path straight.  Wonderful request – I need to adopt that as well.  I ask for His Holy Spirit to guide me in my  day, but I like the way David puts it here.

For there is no faithfulness in their mouth; their inward part is very wickedness; their throat is an open sepulchre; they flatter with their tongue.

10 Destroy thou them, O God; let them fall by their own counsels; cast them out in the multitude of their transgressions; for they have rebelled against thee.

Back to the foolish, wicked and potty mouths (modern vernacular).  David goes so far as to ask God to destroy them.  I pray that He will touch them and send someone to them and lead them to salvation.  Because I don’t want them destroyed – I want to take them to heaven with me.  Is David wrong?  They will be destroyed in the end, but I think we should pray for them as Jesus commanded (Matt 5:44).

11 But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee.

12 For thou, Lord, wilt bless the righteous; with favour wilt thou compass him as with a shield.

He closes with a call to rejoice and shout for joy.  I can not do this enough!  I love praising the Lord and rejoicing in all He has done for me.  he brings me great joy, even on days when things just seem to go wrong.  For even on those days,  He will put a shield around me to protect me from all the evil ones trying to get at me.  What an awesome God we serve.

Leave a Reply

