Finding my Place

Psalm 8

1 O Lord, our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens. i

What a welcome opening line to this.psalm!  After all the talk  of his enemies in the previous psalms, and how distraught he was despite his confidence in God, we see David breakout in praise here.  That’s the best way yo break out of a funky mood-  lift up praise to God and Jesus Christ.  How excellent is His name!

Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength because of thine enemies, that thou mightest still the enemy and the avenger.

He has put strength in babes, David says.  I  think he is saying that even the youngest can praise the Lord, and that is where our strength is.  The enemy flees when we praise God.  The walls of Jericho fell with a shout of praise!  Jehoshophat put the worshipers at the front of the troops, and the enemy ran.  Gideon defeated the mighty Midianite army with 300 men and a shout of praise.

The next time you feel the enemy bearing down on you, start praising the Lord, and see what happens!

When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, whic them.h thou hast ordained;”

Have you ever seen the “Indescribable” or “How Great us our God” videos by Louis Giglio?  If you have not, I highly recommend.  You can find them on YouTube, and there are many versions.  I put links at the bottom of this blog to a couple versions.  If you have an hour. watch the longer ones.  He has a wonderful way of helping us consider the this amazing creation God has given us.  Every  time I watch one of them, I end up praising the Lord with tears in my eyes/    What an awesome God we serve.

What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

This is the single most difficult  thing to answer I think.  People are constantly trying to figure out who they are and why they are here.  We want too know!  Of all the planets. stars, galaxies, universes = Why is man on this little ball of earth?  And is there anyone else out there?

Then he asks God why He, the all powerful creator of the universe, would even care about this little man on this little planet out here in the midst of space.  Why are we so important to God?  Have you ever considered this question as David is here?  I think of the words to the old Johnny Cash Song “Why me Lord”

Why me Lord, what have I ever done
To deserve even one
Of the pleasures I’ve known
Tell me Lord,  what did I ever do
That was worth loving you
Or the kindness you’ve shown.

Truth is, I don’t know if this question will  ever be answered.  I am just glad He does care for me, and watch over me, and save me.  But I do, along with David, often take time to consider this question, because it reminds me just how awesome a thing it is that He does consider us!

For thou made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour.

Davids view is that we are a little lower than the angels.  That’s not a bad place to be in the hierarchy of things if you ask me.  Angels are always watching over us, protecting us from the enemy.  They are powerful beings that simply do anything God asks them to do.  They have no fear, and there is no limit to their power.  And God dispatches them to help us!

But then David adds that God has crowned man with glory and honor.  The angels serve us, not the other way around!  Man is the last thing God created, and we are the express image of God, the crown jewel of His creation!  Jesus said that all of heaven rejoices when one sinner comes to repentance.  That’s how special we are to God!

Thou madest him to have dominion over the works of thy hands; thou hast put all things under his feet:

All sheep and oxen, yea, and the beasts of the field;

The fowl of the air, and the fish of the sea, and whatsoever passeth through the paths of the seas.

We are at the top of the food chain, and I’m glad God made it that way!  He has given us this planet to care for and to utilize as we need to.  We are the stewards, and we need to take that job seriously.  I’m not going to get into the whole climate change discussion, but each one of us needs to do their part to keep this earth clean and safe for all of God’s creatures.  That is our job, and it has been since Genesis

O Lord our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!

David closes the way he opens.  I love to open and close my prayer time with praise as well.  How about you?

Indescrib, adable

How Great is our God

Leave a Reply

