Trust God no Matter What

The longer Psalms will be split into more than one day, simply because I like shorter blog posts when I read, and I would like to have you enjoy them in brevity.

Psalm 9:1-8

1  I will praise You, O Lord, with my whole heart;
I will tell of all Your marvelous works.
I will be glad and rejoice in You;
I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.

“I will” says David.  I firmly believe that David was one of those people who was determined to praise God no matter what surrounded him,  or what circumstances he was in.  Ads we read through His writing, we see this over and over again.  I will praise the Lord.  I may not feel like it, everything might be going wrong, I don;t see a light at the end of this tunnel, but still I will praise the Lord.

Some of you know that right now I am in the midst of cancer treatments.  I have had 2 stem cell transplants, just finishing up the second one 2 weeks ago.  Some days are good, while other days I would prefer to just sleep  all day, if only my back didn’t hurt from lying down too much.  Yesterday was a hard day.  But I will communally praise God for His mercy on me, for His coming healing, and just foi who He is.  In my mind, There is never a reason to stop praising Him.

When my enemies turn back,
They shall fall and perish at Your presence.
For You have maintained my right and my cause;
You sat on the throne judging in righteousness.
You have rebuked the nations,
You have destroyed the wicked;
You have blotted out their name forever and ever.

David was assured that God would take care of his enemies.  We see him in other chapters lamenting their presence, but he always came back to the fact that God will turn them away.  He recognized the enemies attack, but also recognized God’s bivtpry was imminent.

I need to take on this same attitude when faced with difficulties. The enemy of our soul is subtle and he wants us to lose our confidence in God.  He tries to make us think God will not deliver us, and make us feel hopeless.  But that is just one more lie in his arsenal.  God has set us free from the enemy already by giving His Son as our sacrifice for sin.  We are victorious before the battle begins.  Our job when trouble comes is to trust God ans praise him through the storm.

Never allow the enemy of your soul to frighten you into thinking God does not care, or God won’t heal you, or God can’t help you in that situation.  Remember that he is a liar, and anything whispered in your ear that is negative about God is a lie.  Our God loves His children, and always gives us what is best.  We just have to trust Him.

O enemy, destructions are finished forever!
And you have destroyed cities;
Even their memory has perished.
But the Lord shall endure forever;
He has prepared His throne for judgment.
He shall judge the world in righteousness,
And He shall administer judgment for the peoples in uprightness.

Perhaps the attack of the enemy has taken something away from you that you really enjoyed, or needed.  One of the strange things that happened during my first transplant was that my right shoulder just quit working!  My arms works fine from the elbow down, but I can’t not move my shoulder.  It’ some rare syndrome that they say will eventually fix itself, but it could be up to 4 years before that happens.

Now I could sit here and be downcast very easily.  It’s a real hassle to not have a right arms functioning properly, especially when I’m right handed.  The enemy has taken away a “city”(my arm), and he thinks he has won.  But I have news for him.  You see, I serve a God who is much bigger, and who is able to deliver.  God will decide this shoulder will be healed, and if in His righteous judgement, it does not get healed, I will sill praise Him, because I know He dos all things for my good. His judgement of what I need and don’t need is good enough for me.

So half way through Psalm 9, we realize that David just trusts the Lord, no matter what.  That’s the attitude I want to have.  How about you?

One thought on “Trust God no Matter What

Leave a Reply

