Helper of the Fatherless

1 Why standest thou afar off, O LORD? why hidest thou thyself in times of trouble?

2 The wicked in his pride doth persecute the poor: let them be taken in the devices that they have imagined.

3 For the wicked boasteth of his heart’s desire, and blesseth the covetous, whom the LORD abhorreth.

4 The wicked, through the pride of his countenance, will not seek after God: God is not in all his thoughts.

5 His ways are always grievous; thy judgments are far above out of his sight: as for all his enemies, he puffeth at them.

6 He hath said in his heart, I shall not be moved: for I shall never be in adversity.

7 His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and fraud: under his tongue is mischief and vanity.

8 He sitteth in the lurking places of the villages: in the secret places doth he murder the innocent: his eyes are privily set against the poor.

9 He lieth in wait secretly as a lion in his den: he lieth in wait to catch the poor: he doth catch the poor, when he draweth him into his net.

10 He croucheth, and humbleth himself, that the poor may fall by his strong ones.

11 He hath said in his heart, God hath forgotten: he hideth his face; he will never see it.

David paints quite a picture of how the wicked seem to have everything they desire, and he asks God why he is hiding and not punishing them.   I think we have all been there.  I have heard myself say “God, I just don’t get it.  Here I am, trying my nest to serve you, yet I am not gaining any ground financially and my health is bad, and over there you have people who don;t believe in you, and they seem happy and blessed.  Why are you hiding, God?”

It is a difficult thing to watch non-believers get blessed while I sit and struggle to make ends meet.  If I am obedient to what God asks me to do, shouldn’t I get a blessing?  Shouldn’t the good fortune fall on me?  This is where my thinking is wrong.

I must learn to NEVER expect a blessing.  Not that I can’t believe for it – just don’t say “God, you owe me this”  God never owes us anything!  I hear a lot of preachers say that we should stand on the promises of God and we can claim prosperity, or healing, or deliverance.  I do believe we need to stand on His word, but who He gives those blessings to is His choice, not mine.  It is His grace that bestows them,, and I do not have a right to demand grace.  I cannot boss God around like he is just a dispenser of gifts.  He is the almighty Creator.  The only position I should take before Him is lying prostrate on the floor at His feet.

Let us all honor God for who He is, and let us never presume He owes us anything.  We owe Him everything!

12 Arise, O LORD; O God, lift up thine hand: forget not the humble.

There it is.  Don’t forget the humble.  This is what I just talked about.  God loves humility, and this is the position to take when speaking of gifts from God.  The humble person will not expect anything, the proud will think they deserve it.  God hates pride with a passion.  I pray I will stay humble before God!

13 Wherefore doth the wicked contemn God? he hath said in his heart, Thou wilt not require it.

14 Thou hast seen it; for thou beholdest mischief and spite, to requite it with thy hand: the poor committeth himself unto thee; thou art the helper of the fatherless.

15 Break thou the arm of the wicked and the evil man: seek out his wickedness till thou find none.

God is the helper of the fatherless.  What a beautiful picture f our heavenly Father.  I grew up without a dad.  I actually had a bad picture of what had represented for a long time, because my dad left when I was 5.  It took a long time for me to understand that my heavenly Father loved me, and wanted the best for me.  The good news is that in his later years, my real dad and I got back together and enjoyed a close relationship until he passed away.

Our Heavenly Father cares for us.  He cares for the poor.  He sees the wicked and how they devise mischief for His children, and He will not leave us helpless.  I am so thankful to my Heavenly Father, who loved me before I even knew Him.

16 The LORD is King for ever and ever: the heathen are perished out of his land.

17 LORD, thou hast heard the desire of the humble: thou wilt prepare their heart, thou wilt cause thine ear to hear:

18 To judge the fatherless and the oppressed, that the man of the earth may no more oppress.

David as always, ends with praising God and thanking Him for taking care of him.  He once again mentions that He hears the desire of the humble.  This should tug at all of our hearts to stay humble before God.

Leave a Reply

