Build the Foundation

Psalm 11

11 In the Lord put I my trust: how say ye to my soul, Flee as a bird to your mountain?

For, lo, the wicked bend their bow, they make ready their arrow upon the string, that they may privily shoot at the upright in heart.

Have you ever been in a situation where even believers are telling you to give up on something?  They don’t understand our dream, let alone see the vision that we have for the future.  They tell you to flee from your dream, either by their word or their actions.  And you become discouraged.  I’ve been there.

Back in 2010, God started giving me new songs, lots of new songs.  I would get the words and the melody all at the same .time, and would record them however I could.  Hundreds of songs.  The next spring, God led me to start taking piano lessons.  I went so far with them and then started just playing chords to accompany myself.  It was passable at best.

When I started playing my songs in church. and accompanying myself along with my wife playing, people complained about my inability to play very well.  My Pastor, who has always been encouraging, told me that maybe I should let my wife do the playing from now on.  It hurt, but I did so.  Today the songs and poems are still  coming, but I haven’t been very good about getting on the piano to play.  I fled as a bird to my mountain.

But I know I must get back on that piano and work on it.  I must continue to put the songs together.  I must trust in what the Lord has told me, not in what man says.

If the foundations be destroyed, what can the righteous do?

“On Christ the solid Rock I stand.   All other ground is sinking sand.  All other ground is sinking sand”  So goes the words to one of my favorite songs.  We must keep our eyes centered on Jesus Christ, the only foundation that matters.  The gospel must be preached.

It seems the church has lost it’s place in society.  It used to be an institution that shaped the society, but now the society is shaping the church.  We are getting away from biblical principles to cater to a sinful world.  The foundation is being eaten away a bit at a time, and I’m afraid it will only get worse.

Come one church , let’s get back to the foundation.  Jesus Christ cam to be born of a virgin, lived a sinless life, was beaten, bruised and hung on a cross for my sin, and rose again to give me eternal life.  If we will start to stand on that foundation again, perhaps there is still hope for our nation.

 

The Lord is in his holy temple, the Lord‘s throne is in heaven: his eyes behold, his eyelids try, the children of men.

God has not moved.  He is still right where He is supposed to be.  When we call on Him, He will hear our cry (Jer 33:3).  He has His eye on me, to make sure I am protected.  If I am not praising Him and thanking Him for His grace, then maybe I forgot He has been there all the time!  He deserves my praise, no matter what I am going through.

The Lord trieth the righteous: but the wicked and him that loveth violence his soul hateth.

Upon the wicked he shall rain snares, fire and brimstone, and an horrible tempest: this shall be the portion of their cup.

For the righteous Lord loveth righteousness; his countenance doth behold the upright.

What a great conclusion to this psalm.  David knows that God allows testing in our lives.  He also knows that God loves the righteous, and that God hates our enemies.  No matter what he went through, David knew God would be his avenger.

We need that same attitude when tough times come.  Know that God will see you through.  Know that he will take care of whatever enemy comes your way.  His eye is on you, all the time.  You cannot lose!

One thought on “Build the Foundation

Leave a Reply

