Devotional, Psalms

Pure Words

Psalm 12

Help, Lord; for the godly man ceaseth; for the faithful fail from among the children of men.

Boy, does this ever sound like today!  It always amazes me how relevant the Bible is today  Written thousands of years ago, so many times it paints a picture that could have been written this morning.  Such wisdom for the ages!

Godly men are becoming scarcer all the time.  Men who truly follow the Lord with all their heart, soul, mind and strength.  Men who are dedicated to their church, their families, their jobs and their ministries.  Men who witness to the lost and do whatever they can to spread the gospel.

It seems men have been under attack more and more from the enemy.  Sexual sin is rampant, some saying that better then 75% of men have compromised heir integrity in this area.  The need to gain power and wealth has taken many more men to do things that compromise their integrity.   I am thankful for the godly men in my life, and strive to be the man God wants me to be in every area.

They speak vanity every one with his neighbour: with flattering lips and with a double heart do they speak.

The Lord shall cut off all flattering lips, and the tongue that speaketh proud things:.  

 

Who have said, With our tongue will we prevail; our lips are our own: who is lord over us?

Our words are a reflection of who we are.  Jesus said that from the heart the mouth speaks (Luke 6:45).  When we start using our words to manipulate people, God is not pleased.  Flattering words and vain words do exactly this.  And it seems that these kind of words are all people want to hear these days.

Morality in the world is going downhill, and as a result of this there is a crackdown on what we can and can not say.  It is becoming more and more dangerous to speak out against the elements that are bringing society to a different set of standards.  I must speak flattery about the gay community, or I can be arrested for hate speech in some countries.  If I bring up problems with our social welfare state, others will attack me as non-Christian because we should help the poor,  Again, they are telling me to speak flattery instead of truth.  So often I use empty words – vanity – to speak about these things.

Then there are the proud things we here.  Gay pride!  Proud of their sin.  Proud to honor Planned Parenthood!  Proud of their deviant lifestyle.  The proud think they can say anything they want, that no one can tell them what to say.

God resists the proud.  He will cut down those who flatter with their lips.  There is no place in His kingdom for people who will not speak truth.  Let’s all make sure we are not among the prideful or the flatterers

For the oppression of the poor, for the sighing of the needy, now will I arise, saith the Lord; I will set him in safety from him that puffeth at him.

God will always come to the rescue of the poor and needy.  This is the highest calling in God’s kingdom.  In this verse, He is rescuing them from those that are using flattery and vanity to condemn them.  I better make sure I never do that!  I  don;t want God against me.

The words of the Lord are pure words: as silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times.

The words of God are pure.  There is never any deceit, flattery, vanity, or attempt to deceive.  He always speaks truth.

How often do I find myself saying something that I don’t really mean in order to please someone else?  How often do I use flattery to try and get my way?  I must admit that this does happen, and it is an area of my life that I need to carefully watch. I can’t count the times that I have spoken before thinking  and said things that hurt my wife deeply.  She should know by no that I can be an idiot sometimes, and that I do occasionally say things better left unsaid.  But they slip out, and she’s upset with me for 2 or 3 days.

My desire is to use pure words, words that will edify, not tear down.  Words that will encourage, not discourage.  Words that will strengthen, not weaken.  I need to think before I speak!

Thou shalt keep them, O Lord, thou shalt preserve them from this generation for ever.

The wicked walk on every side, when the vilest men are exalted.

God will keep the poor and needy.  And when I consider what I have, and my desperate need for Him, I fall into the needy category.  I need Jesus every day.  He keeps me going in the right direction, and He guides me every moment.  I need Him to keep the enemy away, and keep me safe from harm.  In these times, it is possible that the vilest men (or women) could be exalted, and then the wicked will walk on every side.  When this happens, I want to be kept by Jesus!

Leave a Reply

