Are You Satisfied?

Psalm 17

1  Hear the right, O Lord, attend unto my cry, give ear unto my prayer, that goeth not out of feigned lips.

Let my sentence come forth from thy presence; let thine eyes behold the things that are equal.

David is not seeking any special favor here.  He just wants to be treated by God the way God would be to anyone in his position.  He asks God 3 ties to hear his prayer, saying the prayer is not out of pretense (feigned).  He wants God to be the one to decide what is best

I all to often tell God what  I want, instead of just trusting in His mercy.  I will tell Him I want to be healed, or that I need a financial miracle, or I ask Him to deliver me or someone else from the devils clutches.  But David just asks God to hear Him and treat him equal to how he would treat others.  This is the way I want to learn to pray..

Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.

This is a bold statement from a humble man of God.  You have proved my heart God, and found nothing.  I know I can’t make that statement, can you?  I have several things God would find in my heart that are not good that I am asking for help with all the time.  A lot of the fixing has to be done on my end, and I am just too lazy to get it done.  But I know he will help me so that one day I can say this.

Then he makes another statement that seems impossible at times.  “My mouth will not transgress.”  Our mouths are on of the biggest culprits we have when it comes to doing something wrong.  James puts it best “But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison” James 3:8.  You should go and read James 3 if you have problems keeping your tongue in line.  To not transgress with out tongue means no backbiting, no gossip, no putting people down, no swearing, no saying things about people behind their backs, no evil talk.  It means lifting people up (Eph 4:29).  This is something we should all strive for.

Concerning the works of men, by the word of thy lips I have kept me from the paths of the destroyer.

Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.

I have called upon thee, for thou wilt hear me, O God: incline thine ear unto me, and hear my speech.

David asks God to keep him going in the right direction.  He does not want to get off the path God has designed for him. Too often, I wait until I have wandered off the path to ask God for help, This is a much better way to pray!

Shew thy marvellous lovingkindness, O thou that savest by thy right hand them which put their trust in thee from those that rise up against them.

Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

The request for divine protection is beautiful.  I believe we need divine protection every day.  Just as David, I  never know where the enemy is lurking, and I certainly want to be protected when he does show up.  So often, I pray a prayer like this for friends, but I forge that I need His protection every day as well.

For example, just this morning, I was hit by the spirit of depression.  I was lamenting about all the aches and pains I have right now while recovering from my stem cell transplant, and I almost started to weep.  But I recognized it and started to praise th Lord instead.  The spirit left me and I am fine now.  I must be prepared for these things.  Lord, please hide me under your wing!

From the wicked that oppress me, from my deadly enemies, who compass me about.

10 They are inclosed in their own fat: with their mouth they speak proudly.

11 They have now compassed us in our steps: they have set their eyes bowing down to the earth;

12 Like as a lion that is greedy of his prey, and as it were a young lion lurking in secret places.

David knows that his enemies are lurking out there. He describes them as speaking proudly and enclosed in their own fat. When I look at that description I think of people that are well off and proud of it. They have no humility at all and to put it in common terms they think they’re “the cat’s meow”. And they are ready to pounce on us whenever we say a word about Christianity.

It seems this type of person is one of the hardest to witness to. They have a good life and in many cases they have been good most of their lives. They think they’re OK with God because they’ve come from a “Christian family” and God would not send anyone to hell that goes to church on a regular basis. so they don’t want to hear anything about Original Sin or the fact that they need to give their life to Jesus and live according to his Word.

To me they’re not really the enemy but they will rise up against us if we try to witness too hard  to them. We need to pray that the Holy Spirit will touch their heart before we go in and try to witness to them. Much prayer has to go before us when going up against this type of so-called Christian.

13 Arise, O Lord, disappoint him, cast him down: deliver my soul from the wicked, which is thy sword:

14 From men which are thy hand, O Lord, from men of the world, which have their portion in this life, and whose belly thou fillest with thy hid treasure: they are full of children, and leave the rest of their substance to their babes.

David is asking the Lord to disappoint those that are full of themselves. They have their portion in this life and he says their bellies are filled with the hid treasure. Only the Lord can disappoint them enough that they will seek what they don’t have, and that’s Jesus.

15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

David finishes off by saying he will be satisfied with God. Oh that we can be just satisfied with having God in our lives and not needing anything else. When we get sick and hurting as long as we have God we’re satisfied. When money is tight and we don’t know how the bills are going to get paid as long as we have God we’re satisfied. When trouble lurks around every side and we’re not sure where help is going to come from as long as we have God we’re satisfied. Paul says in Philippians 4:11 that he has learned in all things to beto be content. What a wonderful place to be.

Is that where you stand today? Are you satisfied when all you have is God? Do you hold on to his promises even in the toughest times? Do you praise him in the middle of the storm? This is the way it should be and I pray and this is the way it is with you.

Leave a Reply

