When God Comes, Look Out!

Psalm 18:1-15  

Because of the length of this beautiful psalm, I will break it down to three different studies.  This will be true of many other psalms as we work through the book

1  I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

What a powerful way to open up this Psalm. First David declares that he will love the Lord who is his strength. That’s a decision I need to make. No matter what comes my way, no matter how hard the enemy is fighting and no matter how I feel, I will love the Lord. And I will declare that love for all to hear. There’s no reason to keep it silent because He is my strength. He is the one that will see me through any situation and He is the one who will give me the strength to carry on even in the worst of situations. Hallelujah.

Then David goes into a list of things that God is to him. Can you declare each of these things in your life? He is my rock. He never moves. He stands steadfast no matter what flood comes my way, no matter how hard the enemy fights, no matter how overwhelmed I might feel. He is my rock

He is my Fortress. I can trust that He will always be there to protect me, hold back my enemies, keep me safe in times of trouble, and hold me in His everlasting arms.

He is my deliverer. Whenever I do fall into trouble He will bring me out. I do not have to despair if bad things come my way because He is there to help me through. And if the enemy does attack I can depend on Him to deliver me from the hands of my enemy.

He is my strength and I will trust him. I will never lose faith that God will see me through. I will never lose faith that He can deliver me. I will never lose faith that He is my Fortress and my rock in times of trouble. I will always remember that I can depend on Him in every situation.

He is my Buckler. I wasn’t real sure what a buckler so I looked it up. It is a small shield that is worn on the wrist and is used in battle to fight off the enemy. It is kept close to the body and it’s very flexible in its use.  It can be an offensive or defensive weapon. As my buckler the Lord is there to help me through any battle and any test.

He is the Horn of my salvation. The imagery of the horn means irresistible strength. This is a great definition of God’s strength. It is God that enables my salvation and in Him I have the strength to go through any battle that I might face. He keeps me strong

He is my high tower. From the high tower we are able to see the enemy coming. God is on the lookout or anything that might come my way so that He can prepare me for what is to come. He may not spare me the battle but He will always know what’s coming and He will do His best to let me know what I will face. There’s nothing like having a good lookout watching over you.

I would be thrilled to be able to say all of these things on a regular basis. I have to admit that there are times that some of these don’t apply to my life because I don’t see God that way. I need a mentality like Davids so that I can always say what he says and verses 1 & 2. it’s a powerful statement.

I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.

I can’t tell you how many times I have sung this song in church. It’s an old favorite of mine and I’ve been singing it for decades. I will call upon the Lord and He will save me from my enemies. Every time. Every time. He never fails me. He is always there for me. He hears my every cry. He hears my every plea. He is an awesome God who loves us more than we can possibly imagine. and all we need to do is call upon Him for he is worthy to be praised. Hallelujah

The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.

The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me.

Here is David giving God all these wonderful attributes and now we hear him lamenting again about the trouble that he faces. The fact that many ungodly men have made him afraid and that the snares of death where nearby. it seems David is constantly under attack but he is also constantly praising the Lord.

I’ve been going through battles with my physical strength and wondering why God doesn’t deliver me from all of this. When I look at Davids life and the way he gives God praise in the midst of the turmoil that surrounds him I can’t help but be encouraged and lift up the name of Jesus. This study has been such a blessing to me.

In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

Then the earth shook and trembled; the foundations also of the hills moved and were shaken, because he was wroth.

There went up a smoke out of his nostrils, and fire out of his mouth devoured: coals were kindled by it.

He bowed the heavens also, and came down: and darkness was under his feet.

10 And he rode upon a cherub, and did fly: yea, he did fly upon the wings of the wind.

11 He made darkness his secret place; his pavilion round about him were dark waters and thick clouds of the skies.

12 At the brightness that was before him his thick clouds passed, hail stones and coals of fire.

13 The Lord also thundered in the heavens, and the Highest gave his voice; hail stones and coals of fire.

14 Yea, he sent out his arrows, and scattered them; and he shot out lightnings, and discomfited them.

15 Then the channels of waters were seen, and the foundations of the world were discovered at thy rebuke, O Lord, at the blast of the breath of thy nostrils.

After saying his enemies are gathering against him again, David calls out to the Lord. And God’s response is captured with some vivid imagery that defies my logical mind. We see a powerful God coming down from the heavens to help out one man. It’s not like He’s coming out to save a whole church or a country – it’s just David. It’s just one man crying out to God, one man who trusts the Lord to deliver him and save him, one man who loves the Lord with all his heart. I He talks about cherubs, thick clouds, fire, the hills being moved, riding on the wind, thunders in the heavens, hailstones and coals of fire, and the foundations of the world being discovered. This is God’s answer to one man crying out indeed.

I need to keep this in my mind. That when God comes to my rescue he comes as a mighty God – the God of all the heavens. He comes in power and strength that cannot be defeated. I can see the enemy running before He even gets here because of the display of power that comes along with Him. Oh how I need to remember these verses.

Leave a Reply

