Psalms

God Will Do This For You, Too!

Psalm 18:30-50

30 As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the Lord is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.

31 For who is God save the Lord? or who is a rock save our God?

God’s way is perfect, and He asks us to strive for perfection (Matt 5:48).  Only in Christ can we ever be perfect.  But we are to seek God’s perfect will in our lives every day.  His word is tried – every day scientists and archaeologist are confirming biblical text with their findings.  Prophecies have come true over and over again.  We can rely on His word to always be true because it is tried.  He is the Lord, and He is our rock, steadfast, immovable.

32 It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.

33 He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet, and setteth me upon my high places.

34 He teacheth my hands to war, so that a bow of steel is broken by mine arms.

35 Thou hast also given me the shield of thy salvation: and thy right hand hath holden me up, and thy gentleness hath made me great.

36 Thou hast enlarged my steps under me, that my feet did not slip.

If God did all this for David, he will certainly do it for me as well.  He is not a respecter of persons.  I need to make these statements along with David and claim them as my own.

He girds me with strength.  I should never trust in my own strength to get through the battles I will face in life.  He promises me the strength I need (Phil 4:13) through Christ.  Why would  I even want to trust my own?  Yet so often I go through a trial and believe I can handle it myself.  How foolish can II be?  It’s just my foolish pride once again showing up.  He will make m way perfect!

He males my feet like hinds feet.  what that tells me is that I can outrun the enemy if I need to – God has made my feet fast and able to move quickly away from danger.  He also sets me on high places so I can see the enemy coming from a far distance.

He teaches my hands to war.  I believe the warfare my hands do is when they are folded in prayer.  This is the most powerful weapon I have.  Unfortunately, I don’t use it near enough.  God says He will hear my prayers (Jer 33:3).  I should use this weapon more.

He gives me the shield of salvation and he upholds me with His right hand.  How can I lose with God on my side.  This is the wonderful thing about serving God – we will always win!  No matter what the outcome is, we win, because God does everything for my good (Rom 8:28).

He even enlarges my steps so I will not slip and fall.  This means a lot to me right now because I have neuropathy in both feet and it feels like I am walking on sponges.  Plus I have drop foot in my right foot, and can trip up very easily.  God says He will enlarge my steps, which will keep me safer.  what a wonderful God we serve

37 I have pursued mine enemies, and overtaken them: neither did I turn again till they were consumed.

38 I have wounded. them that they were not able to rise: they are fallen under my feet.

39 For thou hast girded me with strength unto the battle: thou hast subdued under me those that rose up against me.

40 Thou hast also given me the necks of mine enemies; that I might destroy them that hate me.

41 They cried, but there was none to save them: even unto the Lord, but he answered them not.

42 Then did I beat them small as the dust before the wind: I did cast them out as the dirt in the streets.

43 Thou hast delivered me from the strivings of the people; and thou hast made me the head of the heathen: a people whom I have not known shall serve me.

44 As soon as they hear of me, they shall obey me: the strangers shall submit themselves unto me.

45 The strangers shall fade away, and be afraid out of their close places.

David declares that the Lord has given Him  victory over his enemies.  Who are your enemies today?  God will give you victory in all the ways He does for David because He is the one who girds you with strength.  You can overtake them and subdue them in Jesus name.  It willl even come to the place where the enemy will obey you, and eventually fade away.

46 The Lord liveth; and blessed be my rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.

I love it when David breaks out in praise in the middle of a psalm  I am like that as well.  I will break out in praise at the strangest times. My wife will just give me that wonderful look of hers, and I will just worshiping God.   I love it!

47 It is God that avengeth me, and subdueth the people under me.

48 He delivereth me from mine enemies: yea, thou liftest me up above those that rise up against me: thou hast delivered me from the violent man.

49 Therefore will I give thanks unto thee, O Lord, among the heathen, and sing praises unto thy name.

50 Great deliverance giveth he to his king; and sheweth mercy to his anointed, to David, and to his seed for evermore.

Do you allow God to avenge you, or do you try to take care of it yourself and get revenge?  I hope you are patient and allow God to take care of the matter, because He eventually will.  Most likely not on our timing, but He will.  We need to trust Him to do this.

I am so blessed right now to have 2 of my 3 daughters serving the Lord and attending local churches.  I believe He is working on the third.  God ill show mercy to my seed, because I have trusted in Him.  I never thought my youngest would get back in church, but persevering in prayer has paid off.  Never give up on your kids!

Leave a Reply

