The King Hears Little Old Me!

Psalm 20

The Lord hear thee in the day of trouble; the name of the God of Jacob defend thee;

One of these days I need to get a hearing aid. My biggest problem is when I’m in a crowded room with a lot of people. I hear all the conversations around me. So if someone comes up and starts talking to just me I have a real hard time hearing them. I hear everything else in the room and it’s hard for me to concentrate on one person’s words even if they’re right in front of me. So then I forget what they said and I can’t really answer any questions they might ask.

I also tend to think about my answer while I’m trying to listen to the person in front of me. That basically means I’m a very poor listener. I really need to work on that.

God does not have that problem. He’s up there seated on the throne listening for my call in the midst of 7 billion people. And yet he promises that he will hear me in the day of trouble. There are many verses in the Bible that back this up. Jeremiah 33:3 comes to mind. Jesus said many times if you ask in my name I’ll do it. We have a great assurance that God will hear our prayers. It’s hard for us to imagine this because we have trouble hearing the person right in front of us, or at least I do.

Send thee help from the sanctuary, and strengthen thee out of Zion;

Remember all thy offerings, and accept thy burnt sacrifice; Selah.

Grant thee according to thine own heart, and fulfil all thy counsel.

David then lists what God will do for us in the day of trouble. He will defend us.  He will send help.  He will strengthen us.  He remember the offerings that we have given.  And then he will grant us according to our own heart. What a great assurance this is that God is on our side.

I like the idea of the Lord is my defender. I think of a football team because it’s that season. The defense does everything they can to stop the other team from crossing the line of scrimmage. I can see God putting up his hand and holding back anything that would come against me. They can’t cross the line.

He said God will send me help. If you have never read any of Frank Peretti’s books I highly recommend them. He talks about spiritual warfare and there are a lot of references to the angels that gather when we pray. That is why we all need to strengthen our prayer lives. God is sending help all the time. And that help is there to strengthen us.

He remembers our offerings. And we’re not talking necessarily about tithe and offerings. I like to think of it as our praise offerings. We all know the song “We bring the sacrifice of praise into the house of the Lord”. What is your praise life like? Are you lifting him up and praising him as much as you should.  He certainly is Worthy.

David says God will grant these things according to His own heart and his own counsel. David knows that he can only follow God’s will. and we know that the plans He has for us are only good. Let us remember to always say “Lord you know is best for my life”. How can we pray for healing when He wants us to go through a sickness or pray for deliverance when He wants us to go through a trial. We need to learn to just pray that His will will be done in our lives.

We will rejoice in thy salvation, and in the name of our God we will set up our banners: the Lord fulfil all thy petitions.

Now know I that the Lord saveth his anointed; he will hear him from his holy heaven with the saving strength of his right hand.

David assumes a victory already. He’s ready to rejoice in the salvation of the Lord and he says he knows that the Lord will hear him. I have to learn to know going into a battle that God is going to bring me out the other side.

It is common when you’re going through a struggle that people will bring Romans 8:28 to your attention. I maintain that the most important words in Romans 8:28 are the first three – “And we know”. There’s such importance of knowing that God will do all things for our good. If we don’t know that then the verse is meaningless to us. It can feel like someone is just throwing it in our face and we can resent that. I hope all of us can get used to the fact that God will do all things for our good even if it seems like a bad thing that’s happening to us. David knew this and it’s reflected in these two verses

Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.

They are brought down and fallen: but we are risen, and stand upright.

Save, Lord: let the king hear us when we call.

Back in those days an army with chariots was to be feared.  Horses also were a great asset and not every army had them. David was a man of war and was well aware of this. but he said we will remember the name of the Lord our God and all the things listed above will come our way.

God will bring them down and we will be risen and stand upright. As you read through the battles of the Israelite’s you see over and over again how they defeat the enemy even when they are vastly outnumbered. Something strange and wild happens and the other army is sent running.  Look up these passages for some examples:

Joshua 6:1-27 – The walls of Jericho fall

Joshua 10:7-16 – Joshua and the sun standing still

Judges 7 – Gideon defeats the Midianites

2 Chronicales 20 – Jehoshophat defeats Moab and Amon

There are many more examples of miracles being performed so Israel could defeat her enemies.  Do you believe the God of all the heavens can do the same for you?  I do!  The reason we can feel safe in any situation is verse 9. The king hears us when we call. And the King that we’re talking about is a King and Kings and Lord of Lords. No enemy can defeat him!

Are you stuck in a battle today that you are starting to feel there is no way out.  I feel that way some time with this recovery from cancer.  It is taking way longer than I was hoping.  But “I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day” (1 Tim 1:12).  I have committed my life to Him – He will keep me.  And I know he wiill keep you as well.

Leave a Reply

