Christian, Devotional, Psalms

A Bold Request

Psalm 26

Judge me, O Lord; for I have walked in mine integrity: I have trusted also in the Lord; therefore I shall not slide.

Examine me, O Lord, and prove me; try my reins and my heart. 

For thy lovingkindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth.

I have not sat with vain persons, neither will I go in with dissemblers.

I have hated the congregation of evil doers; and will not sit with the wicked.

This psalm is a challenge for all of us. I know it challenges me. David actually asks the Lord to look at his life and see if there’s anything he has done wrong. He has enough confidence in himself that he has walked in the ways of the Lord.  So he has no problem asking the Lord the judge him, examine him and prove him. What a testimony David must have had.

First He asks the Lord to judge him because he has walked in integrity. I asked myself if I have walked in integrity.  The definition of integrity says “the quality of being honest and having strong moral principles” or “being morally upright.”  I look around at the world today and I see morals being challenged at every turn. The basis of all morality is totally different than it was 20 years ago. Is that going to change the meaning of the word integrity? With all the corporate greed and stuff going on isn’t in line high-ranking government officials is integrity going to be become softer? I desire the kind of Integrity that David had so I could look at God and say “God you judge me because I know that I have lived a life that you can call good.:

Next he says he trusted in the Lord so he will not slide. I pray that I will never slide away from God’s truth. The word slide is interesting here to me he doesn’t talk about walking away or falling away.  Slide to me says that it’s a slow gradual movement away from the things of God. We sure can see that in our society today.  But in an individual it might start out by less time in the Word, or in prayer.  Then it might be missing church more often, ot stepping back in giving.  Before you know it you have slid away, and new habits have been formed.  Don’t let this happen to you!

In verse two, he asks God to do three things: examine me, prove me and try my heart. David feels that his life is above reproach. I might have a tough time asking God ,to do these things to me. I mean, there are times that my mind thinks evil thoughts about other people or might hold some gossip or might want to do things that wouldn’t be Godly. If the Lord examined me and proved me and tried me, I might come up short.  David has no fear to ask those questions.  He says the reason he can ask them is because he keeps God’s lovingkindness and his truth before him all the time. That is the key to living the kind of life that David lived -walking in the truth.  In verses 4 and 5,David reminds God that he has not been hanging out with the wrong crowd.  This is the best way we can keep ourselves unspotted from the world, which is our goal.

I will wash mine hands in innocency: so will I compass thine altar, O Lord:

That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works.

Lord, I have loved the habitation of thy house, and the place where thine honour dwelleth.

In verse 6 says he’s going to wash his hands in innocency. That will allow him to come before God’s altar. Maintaining an innocent spirit keeps me free fro guilt and shame an intolerance,  and I then have loving thoughts.  That’s when I’ll be able to come to the altar of God.  The altar signifies worship, and we must be guiltless when we come before that altar.  Jesus said we should even make amends with our brother before bringing a sacrifice to the altar (Matt 5:23-24).  Bringing that pure gift allows us to have a voice of thanksgiving so we can tell about God’s wondrous works without people questioning us. I mean let’s face it, if I’m not living the kind of life that shows I’m a Godly person, an? I’m grumbling and complaining, how much will people listen to me if I act like I have a voice of thanksgiving

David then declares that he loves the place where God’s honor dwells.  I love going to church!  I love seeing friends, my pastor, he lessons and the corporate worship.  Nothing can replace it.  It should be the highlight of our week!

Gather not my soul with sinners, nor my life with bloody men:

10 In whose hands is mischief, and their right hand is full of bribes.

11 But as for me, I will walk in mine integrity: redeem me, and be merciful unto me.

12 My foot standeth in an even place: in the congregations will I bless the Lord.

David does not want to have his soul gathered with sinners. He understood that not everybody goes to same place. Sinners go one direction, saints go another. That has not changed – it’s still true today. If you’re born again you go to heaven if you’re not hell is your destination. We have to keep in mind that Jesus talked about hell fire and eternal damnation as much as He talked about heaven, if not more.  Hell is a real place and it is a place where you don’t want to go, so make sure that you’re right with the Lord

Then David finishes up by saying he’s going to walk in his integrity and asks the Lord to redeem him and be merciful to him. We talked at length a couple chapters ago about asking God to be merciful and how important it is that we understand it is the mercy of God that keeps us from day to day.  Only His Mercy.  Of course, David finishes up with praise saying I will bless the Lord in the congregation. Let us come before him and bless his name because he’s worthy of our praise.

Leave a Reply

