Can I Go Now?

Psalm 27

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

We have discussed our need to overcome fear extensively already, as David brings this up many times.  But here is s different reason to not fear – actually three!

First, the Lord is my light.  I see this two ways.  First, many people are afraid of the dark.  it is a scary place, and they just cringe at even the thought of be being in a dark place.  But when the Lord is our light, He makes the dark places disappear.  we no longer have to fear ever even being in a dark place.  But beyond that, shedding light on something helps us to see it’s true size, shape and color.  Once we can see something for what it really is, we don;t have to be afraid of it.  Most often, t’s the unknown that scares us, and if we know what the situation is,  fear is defeated.  The Lord is the one who sheds light on our circumstances so we don;t have to fear.

Second, He is my salvation.  I don;t have to worry about being victorious all by myself – He is the one who brings the victory.  Having to fight the battle alone is the scary part.  If I can always remember that he is right there beside me waiting to fight with me and deliver me, I will not fear any situation.

Third, He is my strength.  One of the difficulties I have had recently is just getting up out of bed.  My legs are weak, and I struggle to stand by myself.  But my legs are stronger now, and that fear of standing is going away.  I know I have the strength.  Knowing that He is my strength takes away any fear I might have in any situation.  I may not feel strong enough, but He is there to give me His strength, and that is most reassuring.

When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.

Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.

David is confident God will come to His aid/  I need to have this same confidence.  Never doubt that God is going to deliver you from your enemies.

One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to enquire in his temple.

For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.

 

And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the Lord.

I have seen a disturbing trend in many churches, and that is to change their services to house services.  Instead of gathering in God’den s house, they have gatherings at people’s houses, where the setting is supposedly more  intimate and people can get to know each other better.  While I understand the concept, I go back to what David says here, and I wonder if this isn’t part of the reason the church is not as strong as it should be in our society. Now, not only are we divided by denomination and doctrine, but we are divided up within those denominations.

David knew the blessing and victory that comes from being in the house of God regularly.  It is irreplaceable, and David desired to spend as much time in God’s house as possible, because God protected Him there.  Let me have that same desire Lord, because I too need protection from my enemies.

He also brings His praise, His sacrifice of praise to God’s house.  When we gather together, we should remember the victory God has given us the past week, and shout for joy that he has brought us through.  Gathering together to praise Him is the most precious time of the week.  Do you see it that way?

Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me.

When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, Lord, will I seek.

Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation.

David has an amazing relationship with God – one that we can only hope for.  First He says when I cry have mercy and answer.  David knows it is only by God’s mercy that God will even consider answering his prayer.  I hear people say God must hear and answer our every prayer, and I cringe.  God doesn’t have to do anything but honor His word, and he does that through mercy, and in His own time.  We have no right to demand anything from God.

David spends time seeking God.  I have trouble with this.  I always want to be praising or talking or doing something.  Seeking God, to me, means sitting in a quiet place and just waiting on Him to speak to me.  Quiet, mind focused only on God.  And when I  seek Him, I need to wait for Him to make Himself known to me, because He will in time.  I think seeking God is a lost art form today

10 When my father and my mother forsake me, then the Lord will take me up.

11 Teach me thy way, O Lord, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.

12 Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty..  The key iis to wait on Goodand be encouraged.13 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

14 Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.

Even when others fail to help him, David knew God was there for Him.  God would teach him the way to victory, Good will take him up out of His troubles.  God will deliver him.  The key is to wait on God and be encouraged.

Waiting on God us another lost art form.  We used to tarry at the altar for hours, waiting for the spirit to move.  Know a quick 10 minute trip to the altar is all we can take time for.   I believe this is another area I need to be more aware of.  God moves in His  time, not mine.  He wants me to get to the place where I will wait for Him.  Part of that is seeking Him, and the other part it waiting

Leave a Reply

