Can I Hear Him Now?

Psalm 28

Unto thee will I cry, O Lord my rock; be not silent to me: lest, if thou be silent to me, I become like them that go down into the pit.

Hear the voice of my supplications, when I cry unto thee, when I lift up my hands toward thy holy oracle.

I think that David was used to hearing the voice of God. You look in his writings and you constantly see him crying out for God to hear him and to speak to him. I know that when I write my poetry and my songs I have to hear from God. He gives me the words and I just write them down. David must have been the same way, night after night, tending to his flock, just a shepherd boy.  I’m sure he spent a lot of time communicating with God.

In verse one he makes an interesting statement. He says that if God isn’t speaking to him then he feels he will end up like the heathen. How often do we claim to hear the voice of God? I know I claimed it quite often. But others I talk, that say they are Christians, sometimes wonder if God is talking to them or not. David says he can’t survive without God’s voice speaking to him. And he wants to make sure God is hearing him as well.  The reference to lifting up his hands encourages me because I love to lift up my hands to the Lord.

I want to have this type of relationship with God – that I need to hear his voice on a regular basis, not just occasionally. I want God to speak to me in a conversational sense so that I know that He not only hears me but that I can continually hearing Him.

Draw me not away with the wicked, and with the workers of iniquity, which speak peace to their neighbours, but mischief is in their hearts.

Give them according to their deeds, and according to the wickedness of their endeavours: give them after the work of their hands; render to them their desert.

Because they regard not the works of the Lord, nor the operation of his hands, he shall destroy them, and not build them up.

We see a new category of people here, those that speak peace to their neighbors but mischief is in their hearts. Do you know people like this? They’re two-faced.  They act like they’re your friend and then before you know it they’re stabbing you in the back? Looks like they’ve been around for thousands of years. I sure hope none of you have that tendency. It’s an evil thing to be nice to someone all the time and then behind their back betray them and betray their trust.

David asked God to reward them according to what they do. Almost like he wants revenge on him. My guess is these people really did effect David because they pretended to be his friends but they were really his enemies. And David didn’t need any more enemies.  David needed people he could trust because he was constantly at odds with first Saul and then Absalom.  We need trusted friends as well.

People that do these kind of things, that are deceitful and manipulative, obviously do not regard the Word of the Lord and could care less what God thinks about it. They are not accountable for the words that they say of the actions that they do and David says that God will destroy them.  Do not take matters into your own hands, except to forgive them if they harm you with their words.  This is God’s battle!

Blessed be the Lord, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications.

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.

The Lord is their strength, and he is the saving strength of his anointed.

Save thy people, and bless thine inheritance: feed them also, and lift them up for ever.

David realizes that God hears his voice and he starts to raise again the constant theme of praise.  It’s such an encouragement to me. The Lord is my strength and my shield!  When we trust in God, He is our strength – we cannot be defeated. He will keep away the enemy.  When we trust in Him, He will help us. Don’t ever forget that

The Lord is the strength of those that are anointed. Are you anointed to do the work of the Holy Spirit and the work of God? Don’t rely on your own strength – rely on the strength of the Lord on a regular basis and He will be with you.  He will save you and bless your inheritance. What more could we ask for!

Leave a Reply

