Christian, Psalms

I’m Dancing With Gladness!

Psalm 30

I will extol thee, O Lord; for thou hast lifted me up, and hast not made my foes to rejoice over me.

O Lord my God, I cried unto thee, and thou hast healed me.

O Lord, thou hast brought up my soul from the grave: thou hast kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.

Another psalm of praise from David.  God s worthy of praise from us every day, not just on Sunday.  I love to praise Him in the morning, at noon time, and in the evening.  How about you?

David starts out by saying God lifted him up.  Boy, can I ever use that at times.  There have been days just recently that I got really down for a few minutes, and needed someone to lift me up.  I tried to think of someone I could call at that time, but no one came to mind.  Finally, I just started praising God for His mercy in my life, and He came in and lifted me up.  I have found that this works every time!  God will always lift us up when we need it if we will just start praising Hi sickm.

The next statement got my attention this morning.  God did not let David’s foes be victorious over him.  David realized that if he lost a battle, God  must have allowed it.  What a revelation on  David’s part.  If we could really learn this truth, then losing a battle will never get us down.  Why?  Because we know all things work together fr our good Rom 8:28), and that God only has good plans for us (Jer 29:11).  Even in defeat, I can praise Him when I think this way.

David must have been pretty sick to think he might die from whatever he had.  I have felt that way – so sick I was not sure I would make it.  So far, God has always healed me.  I am so grateful for His mercy in my life.  If He still has me alive, then He stil has a purpose for my life.  So I’ll just keep on praising Him!

Sing unto the Lord, O ye saints of his, and give thanks at the remembrance of his holiness.

For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.

And in my prosperity I said, I shall never be moved.

Remember His holiness.  Holiness in this passage means different from the world. Pure, unfettered by sin.  We must remember that God is not of this world – He is high above this world, and yet He still loves us and watches over us. He has no obligation to do that!  How much does He deserve our  praise and worship?

There may be times when He gets upset with us, and His anger i stirred up.  How  many times did He want to destroy Israel in he wilderness because of their lack of faith (Ex 32:9-14)?  When we do stupid, disobedient things, perhaps He gets angry for a moment, but it’s only for a moment.  And then He comes iin  when we are feeling sad because we messed up, and He fills us with joy!  I have had this happen numerous times.  It’s amazing how fast God can bring joy into our hearts of we’ll just give in to Him.

David was prosperous once he rested from His battles, but I’m not sure this was the prosperity he was talking about here.  Prosperity can also mean ease – an absence of difficulties.  David would stay in this place of ease forever.  I’m sure any of us would.  To be in a place where there are no difficulties is a blessed lace to be.  I would not be moved from there either.

Lord, by thy favour thou hast made my mountain to stand strong: thou didst hide thy face, and I was troubled.

I had to take a minute to look at some commentaries on this one.  The reference to my mountain had me stumped.  What I gather is that he is saying God showed him favor, and so he was in a place of refuge that was strong and secure.  God’s favor will do that for us.  His protection is all around us when we are in a favorable place with God.

But then suddenly we see God in a place of trouble again.  Isn’t that just like life!  We find ourselves in a good place, then suddenly something happens that takes us to a place of trouble.  These are the times I’m glad I have the Lord.  No matter what state I am inI cnna be content there (Phil 4:11) knowing He is there.  Our trouble wll not last forever.

I cried to thee, O Lord; and unto the Lord I made supplication.

What profit is there in my blood, when I go down to the pit? Shall the dust praise thee? shall it declare thy truth?

10 Hear, O Lord, and have mercy upon me: Lord, be thou my helper.

In his time of trouble, David makes supplication to God, just as we all do.  He asks God what will happen if he should die.  Will the dust praise Him, or declare His truth?  Of course not!  These are two things we should always be doing.  Praising Him, as the psalmist does over and over again, and declaring the truth of the gospel,, and about what God is doing in my life.

Throughout my cancer treatments, I have been sharing the mercy of God with people all the time.  They will comment how good I seem to be doing, or remark how lucky I have been to get through two transplants.  I just say back to them that God has been merciful to me.  It’s not luck, or my strength or even good doctors.  It’s His mercy that has brought me through, and I will tell people that from now until the day I die.  He is my helper in every situation.  I can always depend on Him.

11 Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness;

12 To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever.

He has turned my mourning into dancing – what a great illustration of the joy of t  he Lord bringing me out of a tough situation.  His joy will win out every time if we will trust Him.   And He will gird me with gladness.   To girded with gladness says to me that it will go with me everywhere I go.  It will be available tome when I need it.  And  His gladness will keep me in good spirits no matter what might come my way.

And the result of this gladness and dancing will be that I will praise Him and give Him thanks for ever.  I will not be silent ever.  People wiill hear about His goodness gto me whenever I am near them,  Ths testimony will bring many toknow the Lord.

Leave a Reply

