Walking in Repentance

Psalm 32

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.

Blessed is the man unto whom the Lord imputeth not iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no guile.

Well there’s no doubt about what David is saying in verses 1 & 2. We are indeed blessed when our sin is forgiven and covered. We have to remember that back in the Old Testament days it took sacrifice on the altar to get forgiveness for sin. If we go back into the Book of Leviticus starting in the first chapter we can read the account of the sin offering, the burnt offering, the meat offering, the peace offering and other offerings that were given depending on the transgression. Each one has different requirements and had to be carried out in order to be considered forgiving of sin. This ritual went on over and over and over again as the people tried find favor with God through their sacrifices.

This is the forgiveness and coverage for sin that David is talking about. In the New Testament Jesus fulfilled all of the different sacrifices in the law when He died on the cross. Part of the fulfillment of the law that Jesus talks about is fulfilling the law of sacrifice for sin. Jesus became the ultimate sacrifice and died once to forgive all of our sins, to cover all of our sins. So now sin is no longer imputed to us. We are indeed blessed if we accept the sacrifice of Jesus Christ on the cross. We no longer have to offer lambs and wolves as a sacrifice. We are free from the bondage of sin.

When I kept silence, my bones waxed old through my roaring all the day long.

For day and night thy hand was heavy upon me: my moisture is turned into the drought of summer. Selah.

I acknowledge my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the Lord; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah.

For this shall every one that is godly pray unto thee in a time when thou mayest be found: surely in the floods of great waters they shall not come nigh unto him.

David talks about the fact that you can’t keep silent – it is necessary to confess our sins on a regular basis. And then we must ask forgiveness. This is called Walking in Repentance and it is a lifestyle that every Christian should have. Yes we have been forgiven of all of our sins. Once and for all Jesus took care of that. Once we accept him as our Lord and savior the sins that we have committed prior to that are washed white as snow. But if we should slip into sin after we accepted Christ, we must ask forgiveness again and repent. We cannot keep silent because God’s hand will be heavy upon us just as it was on David. As surely as the sun rises in the morning we will be forgiven of those sins if we ask.

I learned about this walk of repentance at Pure Life Ministries in Kentucky. It was a time of great self-examination and study of God’s word. You see I hadn’t been repenting when I sinned.  I figured I was covered by the blood and everything was just fine. But what I learned it was my pride that kept me from repenting. It was my pride that kept me from bowing before my Lord and asking forgiveness. It was my pride that made me think I could just walk through life and do what I wanted to do and I was already forgiven. I did not want to acknowledge my sin. I figured I was fine even though I knew I was breaking God’s law. I learned to walk a life of repentance is a Godly life. God knows that we’re human and we make mistakes so he gives us a way to come to Him and ask very simply. He’s a loving father and He’s merciful unto us a thousand times over. Why would we not come to Him?

Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah.

I don’t know whether do you know this little song or not but it is one of my favorites. He is my Hiding Place. I can always run to Him when trouble surrounds me and He will be there to comfort me and keep me and hold me in the palm of His hand. There is never a time that He will turn me away because He loves me more than I can possibly imagine. He provides shelter in the time of any storm and comfort by His Holy Spirit.

He shall preserve me from trouble. When trials or tests will come my way God will keep me in those times. He will watch over me and will never let any trial or test come my way that he will not provide a way of Escape (1st Cor 10:13). And the tests and trials that come will be used to shape and mold me in the future because he uses all things for my good (Rom 8:28). It is also true that no weapon formed against me shall prosper (IS 54:17). I have nothing to fear when trouble comes my way

Hou shall compass me about with songs of deliverance. Nothing is more soothing then singing victory songs in the time of trouble. It may not be a time that people think we should be singing victory songs and we may not even feel like singing in the midst of those trials. But if we can find the strength to sing those songs of deliverance we will feel God’s presence as strong as we’ve ever felt it before in our lives. I know this works for me every time and there are certain songs off praise that touch my heart more than others. I started writing songs several years ago and I wasn’t sure what they were going to be used for. A friend of mine suggested that perhaps one day they would be used to soothe me and that has become so true as I battle cancer.  One of those songs has the following words

I Want to Thank You Lord for your mercy in my life.

I want to thank you Lord for your great sacrifice.

You have given me your all.

Help me give my all to you.

I Want to Thank You Lord.

You deserve the highest praise.

When I sing this song tears come to my eyes as I realize God is right there beside me compassing me about as I sing a song of deliverance. Praise his mighty name

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.

Be ye not as the horse, or as the mule, which have no understanding: whose mouth must be held in with bit and bridle, lest they come near unto thee.

10 Many sorrows shall be to the wicked: but he that trusteth in the Lord, mercy shall compass him about.

11 Be glad in the Lord, and rejoice, ye righteous: and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.

In verse 8 God says that he will instruct us in the way and he will guide us with his eye. He tells us not to be like the horse or the mule which have no way of asking for forgiveness but they need a bridal in their tongue. We are of so much more value than the animals of the earth. We need to act like it when we come before God

Those who don’t know God and don’t have his forgiveness for their sin will have many sorrows in their life. But the biggest sorrow will come when they faced him on the throne and there is no more forgiveness of sin. They will end up in the Lake of Fire never to rise again. But if we trust in God’s mercy He’ll always be there. There’s nothing like God’s mercy to make us glad   We can rejoice and shout for joy because his mercy has covered us and it’s surrounds us so that we can worship Him  Praise the mighty name of Jesus.

3 thoughts on “Walking in Repentance

Leave a Reply

