He’s In Control, Not Me

Psalm 33

Rejoice in the Lord, O ye righteous: for praise is comely for the upright.

Praise the Lord with harp: sing unto him with the psaltery and an instrument of ten strings.

Sing unto him a new song; play skilfully with a loud noise.

I love it when David starts out praising the Lord. That’s the way I like to start my day.  He uses an interesting word here, or the translators did, when he says that praise is comely for the upright. The word comely is typically used of a woman and it means that they are pleasant to look at. The concordance I looked at says that is not the use of comely here but I like to use it that way. I think that praiise is beautiful for the upright. It’s what we should be doing and I believe God looks down and smiles when He sees us praising Him.  It doesn’t matter whether we use any of the instruments mentioned in verse 2 although personally I do prefer instruments during praise and worship. But I also love it when the congregation sings acapella. There is something about just the sound of the the voices praising the Lord.

David says sing unto the Lord a new song. This has taken on a whole new meaning for me since God has started to give me songs. He wakes me up in the middle of the night, he interrupts my day, he gives me little snippets here and there.  Song after song has been coming into my mind for the last 6 years. I have written over 400 new songs, probably more if I go through the poems that I’ve been writing for my blog because some of those are songs as well. I used to sing specials inchurch using accompaniment tapes, but now God has told me never to use those again. I’m supposed to sing my own songs.

On top of that he has spurred me on to learn to play the piano. I have a long ways to go to become skillful but I am able to accompany myself on the basic level and sing my own songs. I have a couple of those posted on my Facebook page. Now once again they’re not the best as far as professional grade but they are beautiful choruses and songs. I’m also one that believes in using a loud noise. I have no problem singing to the Lord in the top of my lungs because I think he deserves it. I remember going to a Promise Keepers event in Minneapolis the first time. Hearing an auditorium full of men praising the Lord acapella in a loud voice was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard.

For the word of the Lord is right; and all his works are done in truth.

He loveth righteousness and judgment: the earth is full of the goodness of the Lord.

Here David talks about the word of the Lord and that the Lord’s are right and all Hiss works are done in truth. We don’t have to worry about whether God will do the right thing or tell us to do the right thing or the wrong thing. God will never tell us to do the wrong thing. The problem is sometimes we don’t recognize God’s voice. We’re not accustomed to hearing it and so we hear a voice and think it’s God. I know that I’ve had that happen to me several times. And then I end up going the wrong way or saying the wrong thing or doing the wrong thing and I realized afterwards that I was listening to the wrong voice because God loves righteousness and He will only tell us to do the righteous thing. The next time you’re seeking wisdom from God make sure that you listen to the right voice. Judge everything you hear in your mind according to God’s word and not according to your human understanding. And whatever you do don’t act hastily.  Sometimes a reply from the Lord can take a little while.

Bythe word of the Lord were the heavens made; and all the host of them by the breath of his mouth.

He gathereth the waters of the sea together as an heap: he layeth up the depth in storehouses.

Let all the earth fear the Lord: let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him.

For he spake, and it was done; he commanded, and it stood fast.

David reminds that God is the God of all creation.  He made the heavens by his word and the hheavenly host by His breath. He guided the continents and the waters together. All He had to do is speak and it happened. That’s why we should all fear the Lord and stand in awe of Him. This is the truth that we need to always remember because not only should we fear Him and stand in awe of Him because of these things but we should learn to praise Him because of these things. if we learn to praise Him because of the simple things, like the breath that He puts in our lungs and the light that He gives us every single day, we will never have a moment that we can’t praise Him. No matter how hard times get these things remain true and constant

10 The Lord bringeth the counsel of the heathen to nought: he maketh the devices of the people of none effect.

11 The counsel of the Lord standeth for ever, the thoughts of his heart to all generations.

12 Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord; and the people whom he hath chosen for his own inheritance.

13 The Lord looketh from heaven; he beholdeth all the sons of men.

14 From the place of his habitation he looketh upon all the inhabitants of the earth.

15 He fashioneth their hearts alike; he considereth all their works.

16 There is no king saved by the multitude of an host: a mighty man is not delivered by much strength.

17 An horse is a vain thing for safety: neither shall he deliver any by his great strength.

The God we serve is also the God of all the nations.  It really doesn’t matter if they acknowledge that fact or not – it is still true. I used to have a pastor that would say “If God said it, I believe it, and that settles it”. But the truth of the matter is we should be saying “If God said it, it doesn’t matter if I believe it or not it’s still true and that settles it”.  He hears the council of the heathen makes it not count.  He raises a standard that cannot be defeated (Is 59:19).   His counsel stands forever

One of the disheartening things about our country right now is that we are seeing Christian symbols removed left and right from Society. In the name of diversity they’re taking away the very foundation of this country. Those of us who are Christians believe verse 12, that a nation whose God is the Lord is blessed and the people in that country will be blessed.  We believe God has blessed this nation in the past because we have acknowledged the God of the Bible, and if we turn away from that belief our country will be in trouble.

God is wa0tching over us.  He beholds everything that goes on and he considers all of our works. We have a wild and crazy election coming up in our country with two candidates that are both severely damaged goods. I believe with all my heart that God is in charge of the selection and whoever wins is who He wants to win.  We as Christians need to make sure we’re praying for our president who ever it is because they will need our prayers

18 Behold, the eye of the Lord is upon them that fear him, upon them that hope in his mercy;

19 To deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine.

20 Our soul waiteth for the Lord: he is our help and our shield.

21 For our heart shall rejoice in him, because we have trusted in his holy name.

22 Let thy mercy, O Lord, be upon us, according as we hope in thee.

David states again that the eye of the Lord is upon us. I personally think that he watches over everybody, not just those that fear Him or those that hope in His Mercy.  But the ones that fear Him and hope in his Mercy are the ones that will be delivered from death.  He will protect us and watch over us and keep us in the severity of trials that we might face

We just need to wait on him because He is our help and our Shield.  Our hearts will rejoice because we have trusted in him.  Don’t you feel great when you trusted in the Lord and he brought you through?  Isn’t it a wonderful feeling to know that God is right there beside you in your time of trouble?  He is always willing to extend his mercy to us as long as we have hope in Him. Never forget that He is just waiting for us to trust Him.  Sometimes we have to get ahead of the Lord and take matters into our own hands.  God will watch over us, but He will also let those situations that we put ourselves in play out to the end.  Then we call on His name and He’s right there to show us His mercy and help us get through. What an awesome God we serve

Leave a Reply

