Have No Fear

Psalm 34

I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.

O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.

Well here we have another song. I Will Bless The Lord at all times his praise shall continually be in my mouth. That’s the heart I always want to have. Then a moment doesn’t go by that His praises aren’t in my mouth. Right now I have a lot of aches and pains and I have a lot that I can gripe and complain about. I have to admit that I have been doing some of that. But the pain and the disappointment goes away when I start to praise the Lord. Doctors say that stress causes about 75% of our ailments anymore. I think I’m going to follow David’s advice in verse one. All of us would live a healthier lifestyle if we would just praise the Lord more!. That is certainly is what I plan to do.

I will boast of the Lord and not of myself. God resists the proud and gives grace to the humble (Proverbs 3:34) I must always maintain that humble spirit for God. We will talk about that more later on in this verse. Oh magnify the Lord with me. I love the word magnify that David uses. I think of a magnifying glass. I used to have a microscope when I was young and that magnified everything. It was fun to look through it and see how small things came to life. When we magnify the Lord we make Him bigger. In many people’s lives God is way too small. They don’t think He can handle this situation or they don’t think He cares for them or they don’t think He can possibly love them. When we are around those people we need to magnify the Lord and let them know that He’s big enough to take care of any of their problem situations. That’s what happens when we exalt the Lord and magnify His name.

I sought the Lord, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

They looked unto him, and were lightened: and their faces were not ashamed.

This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.

Here David doesn’t say he just called out to the Lord and he heard me.  He says he sought the Lord and he heard me. There’s a difference between crying out to God and seeking God. One just takes a simple prayer the other takes time and energy. How much time and energy do I put into my prayer life? Do I just get up and say a simple prayer every morning and figure that covers it? I hate to admit it but that’s the way I do it. I need to learn to seek the Lord during my prayer time. Take the time to meditate on His word and see what it reveals about God and how He wants to deal with me. The more I know about God the more I understand how He answers my prayers.

David says I sought the Lord and He heard me and delivered me from my fears. I think it’s interesting that he doesn’t say he delivered me from an illness , or that He delivered me from my enemies, or that He delivered me from evil doers. But he delivered David from his fears. Sometimes God will leave us in the middle of a situation and wait until we have learned the lesson He wants us to learn before He will pull you out.  But He will deliver us from the fear that this situation might produce.

I want to be delivered from my fear right now – my fear that my body will never be normal again. I read accounts online of people whoo get neuropathy and drop foot and it never leaves. I am claiming a complete victory in the name of Jesus Christ but I need the Lord to touch the fear that sits in the back of my mind

In verse 6, David talks about the poor man crying in the Lord.  I think of the Beatitudes that Jesus gave us and I’m reminded of one that says blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. I think this is what the poor man is here. He’s one that has a lowly heart.  He is not puffed up in himself.  He is humble before God – He has a poor spirit.  This is thekind of man God hears.  When this man prays God will save him out of his troubles because God knows that he’s totally dependent on him.  Lord, make me poor in spirit  Make me humble in your sight.  Take away all the foolish pride that may come around.  II want to be that man who you hear and deliver.

The angel of the Lord encampeth round about them that fear him, and delivereth them.

O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.

O fear the Lord, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him.

10 The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.

We see that the angels take care of us when we fear the Lord. If you’ve ever read Frank Peretti writing he gives a real good glimpse of how the angels go into action when we pray. It’s a powerful reminder there is a spiritual realm out there, and it is ready to spring into action when we get in trouble because the Lord is good and the person that’s trusting Hiim is blessed

Verse 9 tells us that there was no want in those that fear the Lord.  The fear he’s talking about here is not a fear that says I’m afraid of Him. It’s more about being in awe of Him and His mighty power to do whatever He pleases. We always have to remember that if we turned into the wicked man, we will be done for. But if we fear the Lord we will never walk away from Him.  David then reiterates that they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing. God takes care of those who put their trust in Him.

11 Come, ye children, hearken unto me: I will teach you the fear of the Lord.

12 What man is he that desireth life, and loveth many days, that he may see good?

13 Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.

14 Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.

15 The eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous, and his ears are open unto their cry.

16 The face of the Lord is against them that do evil, to cut off the remembrance of them from the earth.

17 The righteous cry, and the Lord heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles.

18 The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

Now David will teach us the fear of the Lord because if we really desire life, desire long life, then we will fear the Lord.  First keep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking guile. The words of my mouth are powerful. Keep in mind that God created everything you can see by the spoken word. We were made in the image of God and our words are much more powerful than we think they are.

Remember growing up there was a little rhyme that said “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me”. How totally wrong the last part of that saying is. Society is finally coming to this realization and the bullying laws that are coming up in our schools should be applauded. How many people do you know from back in the sixties and seventies who were called certain names because of their size or maybe a characteristics they had and now today they have low self-image and they have a lot of problems because of what went on when they were children. The words that were spoken to them did harm for decades afterwards. Let’s make sure that we are never speaking evil words but that we are following the advice of Paul and Ephesians 4:29 where he tells us you only speak of things that are edifying.

Then he tells us to depart from evil and do good. This should be a no-brainer for any Christian. Depart from gossip and back-biting which is evil. Sometimes we forget that speaking behind other people’s backs is evil. We need to be careful what we’re taking in. And it says to seek peace and pursue peace. Are you trying to make peace with those around you all the time

19 Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the Lord delivereth him out of them all.

20 He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken.

21 Evil shall slay the wicked: and they that hate the righteous shall be desolate.

22 The Lord redeemeth the soul of his servants: and none of them that trust in him shall be desolate.

David now tell su that the righteous will be afflicted. Jesus never promised you a rose garde  He even told the disciples that they would face tribunation and that God will deliver them. You never have to feel, when you get in the middle of trials and tests because you can know that God will bring you out. He’s going to keep you in those difficult days. And the reason is that He takes care of the wicked.  He’ll take care of the souls of His servants and noone that trusts Him will be desolate

If we follow the Lord and fear Him and do all we can to do good and not evil then God will deliver us when thetesting comes. What a mighty God we serve

Leave a Reply

