Take a Stand!

Psalm 35

Plead my cause, O Lord, with them that strive with me: fight against them that fight against me.

Take hold of shield and buckler, and stand up for mine help.

Draw out also the spear, and stop the way against them that persecute me: say unto my soul, I am thy salvation.

Let them be confounded and put to shame that seek after my soul: let them be turned back and brought to confusion that devise my hurt.

David takes his case to the Lord asking the Lord to plead his cause against his enemies. Wouldn’t it be nice if God would speak to our enemies and tell them to leave. I do believe He will speak to our circumstances but most of the time it’s us that have to speak to our circumstances.   Never let the circumstances of your life get you down. Ask God to take hold of your shield and your buckler and help you in the battle. That’s what David does!  That way God can fight for us when we’re defenseless.

He even tells the Lord to take out a spear and stop them. It reminds me of the story of Balaam and his donkey who was stopped in their tracks because the Lord stood with his spear drawn (Num 22:21-39). So you know from scripture that this does happen. Why not ask God to take out his Spear and fight for us? Why not ask God to confound them and put them to shame? He says he’ll fight for us.  I hope we believe that!  I don’t always pray that way like I should – maybe I should to do more of that.

Let them be as chaff before the wind: and let the angel of the Lord chase them.

Let their way be dark and slippery: and let the angel of the Lord persecute them.

For without cause have they hid for me their net in a pit, which without cause they have digged for my soul.

Let destruction come upon him at unawares; and let his net that he hath hid catch himself: into that very destruction let him fall.

He asked God to let them be chaff in the wind. For those of you who don’t know what threshing wheat is like, once the harvest is in all the wheat is piled up.  The way you separate the chaff is to throw the weed up in the air and the wind will take away the chaff. The wind will take away the part that’s not needed and not necessary. That’s what we need God to do to our enemies.

He wants their way to be dark and slippery. There’s nothing worse than dark and slippery. When I was young, I loved walking on the rocks in the river. You had to make sure you avoid the slippery ones, and you can usually tell them because they had moss on them or they were covered with water. If it was dark you wouldn’t be able to see it and you’d certainly fall and probably hurt yourself.  Of our enemies are i a dark and slippery place, they will surely fall.

His enemy doesn’t have a cause to prosecute him. Have you ever been in that situation? Somebody’s giving you a hard time and you have no idea why? It’s not fun. Jesus tells us we have to go to them and ask them what the problem is (Matt 5:23-24).   He says it’s even more important than giving your gift to God at that time. I think that’s a good piece of advice.  David asks God to destroy them quickly so they’re not aware that he’s coming.

And my soul shall be joyful in the Lord: it shall rejoice in his salvation.

10 All my bones shall say, Lord, who is like unto thee, which deliverest the poor from him that is too strong for him, yea, the poor and the needy from him that spoileth him?

11 False witnesses did rise up; they laid to my charge things that I knew not.

12 They rewarded me evil for good to the spoiling of my soul.

Once again right in the middle of the psalm David breaks out and praises the Lord.  He says his soul shall be joyful and he rejoices in his salvation. This lesson over and over again tells us then we need to praise him in the storm!  There is no better time to give God glory then when were down in the dumps.

13 But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth: I humbled my soul with fasting; and my prayer returned into mine own bosom.

14 I behaved myself as though he had been my friend or brother: I bowed down heavily, as one that mourneth for his mother.

15 But in mine adversity they rejoiced, and gathered themselves together: yea, the abjects gathered themselves together against me, and I knew it not; they did tear me, and ceased not:

16 With hypocritical mockers in feasts, they gnashed upon me with their teeth.

David says that he mourns with those that are sick. And he fasted for them,  and he prayed for them. David never forget that these people were his brothers and sisters in the Lord and they needed prayer just as much as anybody did.  Jesus also tells us to pray and do good for our enemies (Matt 5:44)   These people were his enemies!  If you’re my enemy, then I should pray for you because it’s the right thing to do.

17 Lord, how long wilt thou look on? rescue my soul from their destructions, my darling from the lions.

18 I will give thee thanks in the great congregation: I will praise thee among much people.

19 Let not them that are mine enemies wrongfully rejoice over me: neither let them wink with the eye that hate me without a cause.

20 For they speak not peace: but they devise deceitful matters against them that are quiet in the land.

21 Yea, they opened their mouth wide against me, and said, Aha, aha, our eye hath seen it.

David knows that God is watching him. He said how long will you look on Lord. He knows that God is watching him even when his enemies are coming against him. Do you have assurance that God is watching over you when you’re in the middle of your trials? Do you know that He’s right there, ready to answer your prayer and ready to hear your praise. That’s why David is so quick to praise the Lord in the middle of these psalms when his enemy is coming against him.

In verses 20 + 21 these people spoke good but did evil.  We talked at length about that in the last chapter so I’m not going to go into it. Just make sure you’re not doing that.

22 This thou hast seen, O Lord: keep not silence: O Lord, be not far from me.

23 Stir up thyself, and awake to my judgment, even unto my cause, my God and my Lord.

24 Judge me, O Lord my God, according to thy righteousness; and let them not rejoice over me.

25 Let them not say in their hearts, Ah, so would we have it: let them not say, We have swallowed him up.

26 Let them be ashamed and brought to confusion together that rejoice at mine hurt: let them be clothed with shame and dishonour that magnify themselves against me.

27 Let them shout for joy, and be glad, that favour my righteous cause: yea, let them say continually, Let the Lord be magnified, which hath pleasure in the prosperity of his servant.

28 And my tongue shall speak of thy righteousness and of thy praise all the day long

David pleads with God to come to his rescue.  He tells God to stir Himself up!  Pretty bold if you ask me.  He challenges God once again to judge him according to God’s righteousness, not his own   I can only do that if I have the righteousness of Christ on me, because my righteousness is a mess!

He asks that  God make his enemies ashamed, and that he puts joy and gladness in those that favor righteousness.  I hope I always favor righteousness and not bad works.  I hope I am always on the side of those that magnify the Lord, and not make Him smaller.  If I hold my peace when others are cursing God, then I make God smaller.  I should be magnifying Him, and speaking of His righteousness all the day log as David does.  In our day and age, this is a real challenge.  So many people are disillusioned with God and have no problem speaking against Him.  Will I be the one to stand up for Him?  Willyou?

Leave a Reply

