Christian, Commitment to God, Devotional, God, Psalms

God says “Don’t fret. I got this!”

Psalm 37:1-21 

Since this is such a long Psalm, I put it tow blogs. The second half will be posted tomorrow)

Fret not thyself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity.

For they shall soon be cut down like the grass, and wither as the green herb.

Trust in the Lord, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.

Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.

And he shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light, and thy judgment as the noonday.

Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.

What do we worry about the most? I would say typically it’s the trials and tests that we get into. It’s when the enemy comes against us and we’re really not sure what to do about it. We can even get to the point where we wonder why people in their position would do these things to us. This is no different than David.  But he says don’t worry about the evildoers or be envious about the people that are coming against us. He knows that God will take care of them quickly. I like that attitude.

So we chose to do good and trust God. Don’t go the opposite direction and do something stupid to try to get out of your situation. God loves you and he will take care of you if you seek him first.

Verse 4 can be taken two different ways. The first is if we delight in the Lord, He will give us what our hearts desire. The second one says that if we will take delight in the Lord, He will give us desires in our hearts that will line up with his will. I like to believe the latter translation is what David talking about here. I think we set ourselves up for disappointment if we think that God is going to give us the desires of our own heart because our hearts are deceitfully wicked (Jer 17:9).  If God fulfilled the desires of my own heart, than all trouble would vanish, sickness would be swift to heal, I would have no financial trouble, etc. In other words, I would have nothing to test my faith.  Nothing too build patience (James 1:2-4).  I need these things in my life.  But if God fills my heart with His desires, then those desires would always line up with His plan for my life.

Is my life committed to the Lord? Do I have in mind what He wants me to do at all times? I sometimes wonder if I’m fully committed or if I just take it part way. David says if I’m fully committed to the Lord and trust in Him that He will bring those desires of my heart to pass. Righteousness and justice will be shown to all through the life I live if I’m committed. But I need to rest in him to see this happen, and this brings us back to verse 1. I need to be patient with God in difficult times – that’s what faith is all about.

And then I need to make sure that I don’t get angry about the enemy. Anger doesn’t do anybody any good because being angry will hurt me more than my enemy. Often times those that come against us don’t even realize that they’ve hurt us, so when we get angry it’s an internal thing and it can eat us alive. Bitterness can set in and that’s something we need to get rid of it as soon as we can.  The Word says don’t let any root of bitterness grow up within you (Heb 12:15). It can’t grow up within us if we don’t get angry about things or get upset or fret and worry.

For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the Lord, they shall inherit the earth.

10 For yet a little while, and the wicked shall not be: yea, thou shalt diligently consider his place, and it shall not be.

11 But the meek shall inherit the earth; and shall delight themselves in the abundance of peace.

12 The wicked plotteth against the just, and gnasheth upon him with his teeth.

13 The Lord shall laugh at him: for he seeth that his day is coming.

David’s confidence in God always amazes me.  He knows that the evil people around him will soon be cut off.  Those of us who wait on the Lord will inherit the earth.  Are you that confident in God’s ability to deliver you out of your troubles? We need to be!  I need to be!  What I need is the knowledge that God will do everything we can to bring things about for my good (Rom 8:28). He is always on my side

And I don’t need to be outgoing about this.  I need to stay meek, because David writes I will inherit the earth, and Jesus repeated this very verse (Matt 5:5).  Meekness in the bible means that we exercise power without harshness.  I like to think it means that we always know where the power comes from.  All kinds of difficult circumstances come up against David, just like they do to us,  and yet God always delivered him out of trouble. I can just see the wicked plotting against us and the Lord laughing at them because He knows that their day is coming.

14 The wicked have drawn out the sword, and have bent their bow, to cast down the poor and needy, and to slay such as be of upright conversation.

15 Their sword shall enter into their own heart, and their bows shall be broken.

16 A little that a righteous man hath is better than the riches of many wicked.

17 For the arms of the wicked shall be broken: but the Lord upholdeth the righteous.

18 The Lord knoweth the days of the upright: and their inheritance shall be for ever.

19 They shall not be ashamed in the evil time: and in the days of famine they shall be satisfied.

20 But the wicked shall perish, and the enemies of the Lord shall be as the fat of lambs: they shall consume; into smoke shall they consume away.

21 The wicked borroweth, and payeth not again: but the righteous sheweth mercy, and giveth.

This whole section talks about how the enemy is ready to fight and how God is going to give the righteous victory.  what do we have to fear?  What do we have to be ashamed of?  In every situation we come out on top. God knows when we’re going to come out of the problem. We need to show mercy and we need to give and not be like the wicked.

This whole section talks about why we should not fret and worry when evil comes against us. It is a wonderful reminder to me that God is going to take care of things. He’s going to watch over me and keep me in every situation. There’s nothing the enemy can do to ruin my life when I place my life in God’s hand. I’ve committed my way to him. Because of that He will see me through and He will see you through too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

