God Inclines To Me

Psalm 40

I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

I can just see this scene in my mind and it touches me to my very core. Here’s David, the wonderful psalmist, waiting patiently for God. He’s been out in the field praising Him all day, giving Him glory and thanks for the deliverance God has given him. David sings his songs of praise and plays his harp and God is well pleased.

And suddenly God inclines to David. I can see God leaning over to his beloved servant and putting his ear close to David inviting him to speak. This is our loving God, who inclines to us to hear our cry. Imagine it – the King of the universe, creator of all things, leaning down and opening His ear just tom hear my cry.   Oh How He Loves Us. Have you ever been in a place where you’re just waiting on God to answer you?  He will come and incline to you as well.

And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.

Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.

God puts a new song in David’s mouth. I know this feeling. Back in 2010 God started to put new songs in my mouth. It’s an amazing thing when all of a sudden songs of praise start to seep out of your being. These song have given me so much comfort through the years, especially now in my fight against cancer.  As others hear the song, men shall fear and trust in the Lord. I trust God will use these songs that he’s given me to reach a generation. Some of you visit my Psalms blog page. I hope you enjoy them. We’re blessed if we put our trust in God.  He will never fail us.  He will never forsake us.  He will never leave us.  He will always be there to pull us through.  What a loving God we serve

Many, O Lord my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered.

Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.

Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me,

I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.

David recognizes that God has done so much for him God has done some wonderful works for David, and God has thoughts towards him.  Have you ever thought about that? How much God thinks about you? I’m not sure how much you think about God but for me it’s quite often. But I have never really thought about how much he thinks about me. He has me on his mind on a regular basis. David says that if he tried to declare them all it’s more than can be numbered.  God’s thoughts towards me are innumerable!  That’s how much He loves me. That’s how much He loves you!

God doesn’t desire sacrifice or an offering.  It’s not burnt offerings He’s after, or the offerings of the Old Testament. It’s the fact that we delight to do His will. That’s what makes God happy – obedience.  Samuel says to obey is better than sacrifice (I Sam 15:22). We can do all of the good deeds we want, we can support our church, we can give to the poor. We can sacrifice anything we want.  But if we’re not doing the will of God, it doesn’t matter. And what is his will?   His well is to love. The First Corinthians 13 type of love the takes us way out of our comfort zone and reaches out to those around us.  That is God’s will.

I have preached righteousness in the great congregation: lo, I have not refrained my lips, O Lord, thou knowest.

10 I have not hid thy righteousness within my heart; I have declared thy faithfulness and thy salvation: I have not concealed thy lovingkindness and thy truth from the great congregation.

11 Withhold not thou thy tender mercies from me, O Lord: let thy lovingkindness and thy truth continually preserve me.

12 For innumerable evils have compassed me about: mine iniquities have taken hold upon me, so that I am not able to look up; they are more than the hairs of mine head: therefore my heart faileth me.

13 Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me: O Lord, make haste to help me.

We need to be as David is and talk about God’s righteousness. There are enough people in this world that think God is evil or that He doesn’t exist. They see all the bad things happening in the world and they say it’s God’s fault for allowing it. Do we defend God when we hear people say that? Do we defend his righteousness and declare his righteousness?

David said the evils that are around him are without number. I think we can say the same thing today. It’s up to us can make sure the righteousness of the Lord is talked about.  God will help us.   Jesus told the disciples that the Holy Spirit would give them the words to say when they needed him (Luke 12:12). I need to rely on him and make sure that I am talking about the righteousness of the Lord

14 Let them be ashamed and confounded together that seek after my soul to destroy it; let them be driven backward and put to shame that wish me evil.

15 Let them be desolate for a reward of their shame that say unto me, Aha, aha.

16 Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: let such as love thy salvation say continually, The Lord be magnified.

17 But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: thou art my help and my deliverer; make no tarrying, O my God.

In closing, David asks the Lord once again to make those people that are coming against him to be ashamed. David knows that God is on his side and that all of their attacks will be vain.  He also knows that those people that seek God will rejoice and be glad. I want to be among those that are magnifying the Lord.  Even though I am poor and needy, He thinks about me. He thinks about me! God thinks about you!. That thought just blows my mind.

2 thoughts on “God Inclines To Me

Leave a Reply

