Heal My Soul, Lord!

Psalm 41

Blessed is he that considereth the poor: the Lord will deliver him in time of trouble.

The Lord will preserve him, and keep him alive; and he shall be blessed upon the earth: and thou wilt not deliver him unto the will of his enemies.

The Lord will strengthen him upon the bed of languishing: thou wilt make all his bed in his sickness.

God always honors people who take care of the poor. Now the way I look at this, the poor can mean several different things.  They can be poured in material possessions, or poor in health or poor in spirit. In any of these cases,God blesses a man that has a heart for the poor.  Just just look at some of these scriptures that talk about the poor in the Bible.

Proverbs 14:31  Whoever oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honors God.

Proverbs 21:13 Whoever shuts their ears to the cry of the poor will also cry out and not be answered

Jeremiah 22:16  ‘He defended the cause of the poor and needy, and so all went well. Is that not what it means to know me?’ declares the LORD

Acts 10:4  Your prayers and gifts to the poor have come up as a memorial offering before God.

And then look at what God says. He will preserve keep alive the man that considers the poor.  He will be blessed upon the Earth and God will not deliver him to his enemies. I want to be with those people so I should make sure I’m looking out for those that are less fortunate than I am. God has blessed me for a reason and it’s not so that I can lavish on myself.

I said, Lord, be merciful unto me: heal my soul; for I have sinned against thee.

This verse is one of the more powerful verses in the Psalms. David says he has sinned against the Lord. We always have to remember that when we hurt one of our fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, we hurt at the Lord. Do you  recall that it works the opposite way – if we bless somebody we bless the Lord (Matt 25:34-46). So I have to believe that if we steal happiness from someone by unkind words, we’re doing it to Jesus too.  If we back bite and gossip we’re doing it to Jesus too.  When you look at it this way, I bet it’s quite often that we sin against the Lord

So David asked the Lord to heal his soul. Have you thought about the fact that when you soon it hurts your soul?  I don’t believe I’ve ever asked God to heal my soul!  Even when  I first got saved and I don’t think I use those words.  I need my soul healed throughout so that the sin that I had won’t reoccur. See it’s easy for us to say I’m sorry Lord, please forgive me.  But we need our soul healed as well.  We need to be touched deep down inside so we don’t do that again. God will be merciful and we see David asking for God’s mercy over and over again. This is another reason that David was called a man after God’s own heart. He looked for God’s mercy all the time and he wasn’t afraid to ask for it. I think sometimes we take mercy for granted. We just expect God to be merciful to us and we don’t necessarily ask. Let’s make a habit of saying this prayer as David said it.

Mine enemies speak evil of me, When shall he die, and his name perish?

And if he come to see me, he speaketh vanity: his heart gathereth iniquity to itself; when he goeth abroad, he telleth it.

All that hate me whisper together against me: against me do they devise my hurt.

An evil disease, say they, cleaveth fast unto him: and now that he lieth he shall rise up no more.

Yea, mine own familiar friend, in whom I trusted, which did eat of my bread, hath lifted up his heel against me.

Once again the enemy is coming against David.  He is saying mean things and he tells other people things that aren’t true. Now this tells me that if you’re going around saying things about people that aren’t true behind their back, this makes you their enemy.  Have you ever thought about that?  Do you really want to be considered an enemy to somebody? I sure don’t!  I want to be friends not enemies. David even had a close friend who has now lifted up his hand against David. He just couldn’t catch a break.

10 But thou, O Lord, be merciful unto me, and raise me up, that I may requite them.

11 By this I know that thou favourest me, because mine enemy doth not triumph over me.

12 And as for me, thou upholdest me in mine integrity, and settest me before thy face for ever.

13 Blessed be the Lord God of Israel from everlasting, and to everlasting. Amen, and Amen.

Once again David asks the Lord to be merciful to him and to raise him up. He knows that God favors him because his enemies have not triumphed over him.  We sure can take that to heart. If God favors us then we are free from the enemies that are around us. That can sure keep us happy

God will hold us if we are people of integrity.  He will keep us in the palm of His hand. But if you want to be in that position you need to be people of integrity,  which means honesty and right actions. It means that we’re the same person in public that we are in private. David also says that he will be before God’s face forever. What that means to me is that David knows that God is always watching him and so David’s directs his steps accordingly. Do we direct our steps with the thought in mind that God is watching us all the time, that his face is before us? I know that I can use some work on that one

David finishes up with praise.  Blessed be the Lord God from Everlasting to Everlasting. He is the Father who loves us more than we can possibly imagine. I pray that during your prayer time you always finish with praise to the Lord. He is worthy of our praise.

Leave a Reply

