Christian, Psalms

He Did It Before.  He Can Do It Again 

Psalm 44

We have heard with our ears, O God, our fathers have told us, what work thou didst in their days, in the times of old.

How thou didst drive out the heathen with thy hand, and plantedst them; how thou didst afflict the people, and cast them out.

For they got not the land in possession by their own sword, neither did their own arm save them: but thy right hand, and thine arm, and the light of thy countenance, because thou hadst a favour unto them.

David talks about the  stories of victory from the past that have been told over and over again by the Jews. I can just see people sitting around a fire at night talking about the Exodus from Egypt and how the Red Sea parted. Or talking about the walls of Jericho falling down with a shout. Or maybe it’s Gideon, who beat the enemy with lamps and horns. Over and over again, victory after victory, it was God who delivered the Israelites.  We may  even tell  some of these stories to our kids today.  David reminds the Lord of this, anticipating that if He did it before He can do it again.

Are we passing down a testimony of deliverance in our own lives to our children? My children need to know that my strength does not come just from myself, it comes from God. They know that I was a drunk and a drug addict, and Jesus saved me and helped me overcome those things.  They know that He cleaned up my language and moved me from Massachusetts to Iowa. Without Him the battles I have faced in my life would have been impossible to win. When I had  fight off Pride because it was eating me up and tearing apart my family there was a spiritual battle that took place that I never want to repeat. And now that I’m fighting this cancer I have to continually give praise to God for giving me the strength to see it through. In Revelations it says that the people overcame by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony (Rev 12:11). We must make sure that we’re sharing the testimony of God’s victory in our lives with those around us.

Thou art my King, O God: command deliverances for Jacob.

Through thee will we push down our enemies: through thy name will we tread them under that rise up against us.

For I will not trust in my bow, neither shall my sword save me.

But thou hast saved us from our enemies, and hast put them to shame that hated us.

In God we boast all the day long, and praise thy name for ever. Selah.

David reiterates the fact that right now you are my King, Lord, you will bring deliverance. He knows that through God and His name deliverance will come.  It’s not his  bow or his sword that will get it done. David’s going to boast in the Lord and praise His name forever.

I find myself boasting in the Lord a lot. Heaven forbid I should boast of myself because without God I’d be a wreck going through this cancer. I’d be worried.  I’d be complaining all the time about the things that are going wrong in my body. I’d be distraught. My wife would not be happy with me at all because of the complaints that I’d have.

But I’m not like that. Instead I rejoice in what God is going to accomplish through this, and the testimony that he will give me a healing and deliverance. I have absolutely no doubt that he’s going to bring me out the other side whole. Just like David I will boast in God and I will praise His name forever.  Nothing can happen to me that will stop that. He has done it before, He can do it again!

Are you facing a difficult situation right now? Does it seem like the world is coming against you and you don’t know where to turn? Look to Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith. Only He can give you the strength to endure through the temptations and trials you will face. Only He can give you peace in the midst of the storm. Only He can give you joy when you should be worried and downcast. Allow His love and His grace to permeate your body right now.

But thou hast cast off, and put us to shame; and goest not forth with our armies.

10 Thou makest us to turn back from the enemy: and they which hate us spoil for themselves.

11 Thou hast given us like sheep appointed for meat; and hast scattered us among the heathen.

12 Thou sellest thy people for nought, and dost not increase thy wealth by their price.

13 Thou makest us a reproach to our neighbours, a scorn and a derision to them that are round about us.

14 Thou makest us a byword among the heathen, a shaking of the head among the people.

15 My confusion is continually before me, and the shame of my face hath covered me,

16 For the voice of him that reproacheth and blasphemeth; by reason of the enemy and avenger.

17 All this is come upon us; yet have we not forgotten thee, neither have we dealt falsely in thy covenant.

Now I have to David says He’ll trust in the Lord,  then all of a sudden He says Lord You cast us off, the enemy is not turning back and we are being overtaken. We are a reproach to out neighbors and a byword among the brethren. Lord I’m confused. I don’t know what’s going on now that all this has come upon us. We have not forgotten or forsaken you!  We haven’t dealt falsely with your covenant Lord. Why is this happening to us?

One of the great truths of Christianity is that even if we are doing everything right, trials and tests will come our way. When they  come, we may ask for immediate relief from the Lord, but it’s rare that he’ll give it. One of the beauties of God’s plan is that He uses every circumstance in our life to fulfill the plan He has for us. He did the same for David. Whenever the enemy came, David might have been at a loss for words in what to say to God, but he never lost his trust in God. He just had a close talking relationship with God and would tell god exactly how He felt.

Let’s make sure when we have trials and tests that we don’t try to get out of them before hey  have accomplished His purpose. God will bring victory when the time is right and we should just pray that His will will be done. Don’t get upset, don’t get discouraged.  Just allow God to work in your life the way he wants to.  And have an honest, open discussion with Him about how you feel.  Gd loves that!

18 Our heart is not turned back, neither have our steps declined from thy way;

19 Though thou hast sore broken us in the place of dragons, and covered us with the shadow of death.

20 If we have forgotten the name of our God, or stretched out our hands to a strange god;

21 Shall not God search this out? for he knoweth the secrets of the heart.

22 Yea, for thy sake are we killed all the day long; we are counted as sheep for the slaughter.

David reminds God that they have not turned their hearts away from Him and that their steps are still leading them in the right direction.  He actually asks God if he David has forgotten His name or stretch their hands out to restrict God.

It’s so important that when we get up in the morning we give God praise.  Then we should go through the day in prayer, just talking to God. It doesn’t have to be some lofty speech or some specially formatted prayer.  Just talk to God.  Keep the lines of communication open.  Ask Him to bless you in His own way.  He’ll always be right there to guard and protect you even in the midst of the trial when you don’t know He’s there

23 Awake, why sleepest thou, O Lord? arise, cast us not off for ever.

24 Wherefore hidest thou thy face, and forgettest our affliction and our oppression?

25 For our soul is bowed down to the dust: our belly cleaveth unto the earth.

26 Arise for our help, and redeem us for thy mercies’ sake.

David actually asks God to wake up!  Because he haven’t gotten an answer to his prayer he thinks God is sleeping . The enemy is coming and David thinks God has given them over to him. Then he tells God to rise again and redeem them for His Mercy sake.

I wish I would learn to just talk to God that David does.  He doesn’t hold back his feelings at all.  Sometimes we see David like a yo-yo, bouncing up and down up and down, one minute giving God credit for deliverance and the next minute saying where are you God and then a minute later wake up. Wake up.  Let’s build our communication skills so our conversation with God is as natural as it is with our fellow man.

Leave a Reply

