Christian, Psalms

Is Your Spirit Beautiful?

Psalm 45

My heart is inditing a good matter: I speak of the things which I have made touching the king: my tongue is the pen of a ready writer.

Thou art fairer than the children of men: grace is poured into thy lips: therefore God hath blessed thee for ever.

Gird thy sword upon thy thigh, O most mighty, with thy glory and thy majesty.

And in thy majesty ride prosperously because of truth and meekness and righteousness; and thy right hand shall teach thee terrible things.

Thine arrows are sharp in the heart of the king’s enemies; whereby the people fall under thee.

As I read this psalm, I was trying to figure out who the author was and who he was writing about. So I turned to some of the commentaries and every one of them said that this is actually a Messianic psalm. David is the writer and he’s envisioning the future, when the Messiah has come. So since all the commentaries are much wiser than I am, I have to believe that they are right.

David saying that he’s ready to write and that his tongue is actually like pen is almost prophetic!  Right now I’m dictating this into my cell phone and I will transfer it and correct it when I put it into my blog. My tongue is my pen! David would have no idea that this would be possible back in his day.

Then he starts talking about the Messiah that comes. I get the feeling that he’s talking about the Messiah coming back to earth riding on His white horse in Revelations chapter 19. He is fairer than the children of men, grace is on his lips and He is blessed forever. We know that as Jesus walked this earth he spoke of grace at every turn. The Sermon on the Mount is loaded with the grace of God. In He rides triumphantly,  His sword is girded on his side. We know that He comes in truth and righteousness.  The army that follows Him is mighty indeed and will destroy many of the nations of the earth. This return of Christ is commonly called the marriage supper of the Lamb. It is a supper for the birds..

Thou lovest righteousness, and hatest wickedness: therefore God, thy God, hath anointed thee with the oil of gladness above thy fellows.

All thy garments smell of myrrh, and aloes, and cassia, out of the ivory palaces, whereby they have made thee glad.

Kings’ daughters were among thy honourable women: upon thy right hand did stand the queen in gold of Ophir.

David sees that his throne is forever and forever, and he talks again about God’s righteousness. We have talked a lot about righteousness here. It’s so important that we are living righteously this weekend.in these last days.  Now I understand that my own righteousness is as filthy rags and I must rely on the righteousness of Christ so that I can stand before almighty God.  But we do have a choice to live a good life or a bad life on this Earth. We do have a choice to live in sin or to live free from sin. We do have a choice, with every word that comes out of our mouth, to edify people or tear people down. We must concentrate on doing what is right and what is true. That is what God expects of us

10 Hearken, O daughter, and consider, and incline thine ear; forget also thine own people, and thy father’s house;

11 So shall the king greatly desire thy beauty: for he is thy Lord; and worship thou him.

12 And the daughter of Tyre shall be there with a gift; even the rich among the people shall intreat thy favour.

13 The king’s daughter is all glorious within: her clothing is of wrought gold.

14 She shall be brought unto the king in raiment of needlework: the virgins her companions that follow her shall be brought unto thee.

15 With gladness and rejoicing shall they be brought: they shall enter into the king’s palace.

16 Instead of thy fathers shall be thy children, whom thou mayest make princes in all the earth.

17 I will make thy name to be remembered in all generations: therefore shall the people praise thee for ever and ever

This portion is actually talking about a marriage and the bride in that marriage.  It may seem out of place in the context but we can glean some things from this portion of scripture. I like what he says in verse 10.  Again we go back to the saying “incline your ear”. It’s important that we listened to people. I am a terrible listener.  I’m always trying to think of what I’m going to say next instead of listening to the person right in front of me. It’s something I have to work on every time I’m with other people and I don’t work on it enough. Listening is one of the most difficult things in the art of conversation. I pray that I can learn to incline my ear to those around me

He goes on describing the nature of the queen or the young lady.  She’s very beautiful she is there with a gift to entreat the favor of the king. In verse 14 it talks about her being brought into the king. She is as presentable as can be and her beauty is beyond compare. We need to do our best to be presentable before God. I’m not talking about our external looks. God is only concerned about that as far as we don’t offend other people. What I’m talking about is the beauty of our spirit. Are we emanating good feeling to other people or when people see us coming down the street do they cringe and say oh God please keep them away from me. Our nature must be one that people want to be around and that the king can rejoice when we are brought in.  Look at verse 15.  With gladness and rejoicing the lady will enter into the king’s palace. I definitely want the king to be rejoicing when I walk into the palace!

The last thing he says is that he will make her name to be remembered in all generations and all people shall praise her forever and ever. This is often called The Legacy. We hear them talking about presidential Legacy all the time.  What will they leave behind? But you will have a legacy as well. Will it be a legacy of serving the Lord?  What will people say about you when it’s time to write a eulogy and have a funeral service? That’s something to think about. If it’s not positive then perhaps it’s time for a change.

Leave a Reply

