Never Fear, God is Here!

Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

This is probably familiar to all of us.  It’s an old course that we sing in the church

God is our refuge and our strength

A present help in time of need

He is my Fortress my deliverer

My father my friend indeed.

I love that old chorus.  I tried to find it on YouTube, but the version I grew up with is not there.   It tells me so much about who God is and how he plays a role in my life every single day.

As my refuge, He protects me from any enemy that might come my way. If somehow He allows the enemy through and into the refuge, He has a greater plan and I just need to trust His wisdom.  I know that even if the enemy comes through in the form of sickness or heartache or financial problems, God is still my refuge in all other aspects of my life. He never abdicated that position.

As my strength He holds me up when I’m going through those battles that He allows in my life. He knows exactly how much I can stand and will always make a way of escape in the midst of my trials  (I Corinthians 10:13). God gives me strength mentally, physically, emotionally, and most importantly spiritually to get through. I just have to wait on Him and never give up on Him.

As a present help in time of trouble He’s always right there. All I have to do is cry out to Him and He’ll come running. He said He would never leave me or forsake me (Deut 31:6) and He would hear my cry (Jeremiah 33:3). I trust him implicitly in that. Even if I don’t see the answer right away I know that He hears me and so I don’t worry. He will be there when I need Him.

Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be ca rried into the midst of the sea;

Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.

Because He is my refuge and strength and an ever-present help in time of need, I will not fear, regardless of what happens on this earth. It amazes me the number of people that are afraid after the last presidential election. Granted a lot of people truly felt that the rhetoric got out of hand and that they might be in danger. But what it shows me is that there’s a lot of people out there that need Jesus and His salvation. Because if they had that, they would not fear, even if the earth was removed and the mountains were cast into the sea.  Even if the water roars in like a tidal wave, they would not fear.  And even if there were earthquakes all over the earth,  they would not fear.  We must get out and spread the word of Jesus Christ and His salvation and help people get rid of their fear!

There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High.

God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early.

The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted.

The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

David talks about a river that brings you joy to the city of God and the Holy place and the Tabernacle. We just talked about the rivers of Living Water that he would give us.  This living water that Jesus gives us gives nourishment to the fruit of the spirit, in my opinion. And joy is a part of that. God is in the midst of the holy city and the tabernacle. He is there to help the city even when the heathen rage because He is Almighty God. Verse four could very well be a picture of Revelations 22 where the river comes down between all the trees that hold healing for the nations. It runs right through the city of New Jerusalem.

In verse 7 David reminds us that the Lord of hosts is with us. Isn’t that a comforting thing to know?  He is with us and He is our refuge. it’s beyond me how people can worry about the future when they know God is on their side. I believe that Christians should be among the most calm and assured people in the world, and they should be able to share that with others.

Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolations he hath made in the earth.

He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire.

David admonishes us to come and see the works of the Lord.  He breaks the bows, cuts the  spears and burns the chariots of our enemies, leaving them harmless. There are many who have a low opinion of God because many of the wars that have been fought through the years have been fought because of religion. Look at the mess that we have now because of the Islamic religion and Isis. Isis has captured the public’s image of Islam, and made it into a terrorist religion in many people’s eyes. Only God can bring this to an end. He’s the one that ends wars because He is the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

11 The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

I’m sure somebody has said this to us at one time or another: “Be still and know that He is God.” I have a tough time being still but it is a requirement to really know God. We have to get alone with Him and then be still and allow Him to speak to us.  Too often, when we get alone with God we do all the talking. We will not get to know God that way. It’s important that I take personal time, set it aside, get down on my face, and allow God to speak to me. I need to be still before Him so that He can speak into my spirit what He would have me to know. When all I do is pray and not allow Him to talk I miss out.

And then he repeats verse 7  in verse 11 “The Lord of hosts is with us.  The God of Jacob is our refuge.” David wants to make a point to let us know that God is with us and He’s our refuge – that’s why he repeats it. We need to understand that fear has no part in the kingdom of God. The Bible says perfect love casts out all fear (I John 4:18). If you have fear in your life today,  get to know this psalm really well and use it whenever you feel fear coming on. I pray it will help you to overcome those fearful thoughts.

Leave a Reply

