Psalms

Who Are You Glorifying?

Psalm 50

The mighty God, even the Lord, hath spoken, and called the earth from the rising of the sun unto the going down thereof.

Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God hath shined.

It’s the Lord who has called the Earth from the rising of the Sun to the going down of the same. He created the Heaven and the Earth by his spoken word. Despite all the scientist that think a big bang started ital and that evolution is the answer it flies against the face of everything we as Christians believe. The Genesis account is under constant attack by the enemy and we as a church need to stand up and proclaim the truth of creation. Because if they destroy the foundations the whole thing can collapse.

God has shined. Yes, He shines in the heavens with His son and His moon and His stars. And He has shined in our hearts, as Jesus is the light of the world and Jesus lives within us. And He asked us to be a light. What type of light bulb are you?  Are you a little refrigerator lamp, or are you a shining bright 300 watt flood lamp that everyone can see?  Let your light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in heaven (Matt 5:16), not you

Our God shall come, and shall not keep silence: a fire shall devour before him, and it shall be very tempestuous round about him.

He shall call to the heavens from above, and to the earth, that he may judge his people.

Gather my saints together unto me; those that have made a covenant with me by sacrifice.

And the heavens shall declare his righteousness: for God is judge himself. Selah.

When God comes He is not going to be silent.  A fire will go before Him and a storm will surround Him.  He will call All The Heavens and the Earth to judge the people. We can see this happening in Revelation 20:11-16.  God gathers them together – the ones who have made a covenant with me by sacrifice. The sacrifice that was made was Jesus Christ. He made a new testament (Luke 22:19-20) by his flesh and blood which is much better  than the flesh and blood of bulls from the Old Testament (Heb 9:11-15). The the New Covenant with Christ is our entryway to heaven and we see that here and verse 5. The heavens will declare his righteousness for God is the judge  He Himself sits on the throne judging the righteous and the unrighteous.  The righteous He calls into everlasting life in heaven and the unrighteous, whose names are not written in the book, go into the Lake of Fire. I hope your name is written in the book today!

Hear, O my people, and I will speak; O Israel, and I will testify against thee: I am God, even thy God.

I will not reprove thee for thy sacrifices or thy burnt offerings, to have been continually before me.

I will take no bullock out of thy house, nor he goats out of thy folds.

10 For every beast of the forest is mine, and the cattle upon a thousand hills.

11 I know all the fowls of the mountains: and the wild beasts of the field are mine.

12 If I were hungry, I would not tell thee: for the world is mine, and the fulness thereof.

13 Will I eat the flesh of bulls, or drink the blood of goats?

14 Offer unto God thanksgiving; and pay thy vows unto the most High:

15 And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.

Here David talks about the sacrifices of the old Covenant and God telling the people that He is not going to give them a reproof for the burnt offerings that have been before Him, but He’s not taking them anymore. They’re all his anyway every.  Every beast is His, all the cattle are His.  He names the fowls of the air, and all the wild beasts are His. If God would get hungry, it all belongs to Him. There is nothing we can give Him that He doesn’t already own except our heart.  Is this a reality in your life?  Do you recognize the fact that you are just a caretaker of the things you have on this earth.  I all belongs to God, He just gives you the pleasure of enjoying what you have down here.  And all He asks for is that you accept His Son, Jesus Christ

 So David says that we need to offer to God thanksgiving and pay the vows that we have made to him. When we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior, we make Him Lord Of Our Lives and that means we are to be obedient to Him. Disobedience is the root of all sin. When Adam disobeyed in the garden by taking of the forbidden fruit, that became sin. Nothing is changed.  When we disobey the word of God it’s called sinned.

Now if we get into trouble, all we need to do is call upon God and He will deliver us. I know for me this happens on a regular basis.  I mess up and I need to call on God and sure enough he delivers me. I can’t think of how many times in my life I’ve been sick or had a cold and I called on God and I’m still living! I’ve been in financial difficulties and I called on God and He delivered me. I’ve had people come against me and I called on God and He delivered me. Every time He delivers us we need to make sure that we glorify Him by giving testimony of His deliverance.  Lifting up His name and making sure people know that He deserves all the glory and I deserve none. This is so important.  And it builds the faith of others as well.  Your testimony might encourage someone.  I love it when a pastor opens up the service for people to give testimony for what God has done.  Give God the glory!

16 But unto the wicked God saith, What hast thou to do to declare my statutes, or that thou shouldest take my covenant in thy mouth?

17 Seeing thou hatest instruction, and casteth my words behind thee.

18 When thou sawest a thief, then thou consentedst with him, and hast been partaker with adulterers.

19 Thou givest thy mouth to evil, and thy tongue frameth deceit.

20 Thou sittest and speakest against thy brother; thou slanderest thine own mother’s son.

David now addresses the wicked with the words God has  given Him.  He asked them “What have you done?”  Did you declare my statutes or have you declared the Covenant with your mouth. He tells them that they hate instruction and they take cast His word behind him. They teamed up with a thief and committed adultery.  Their mouth speaks evil and deceit and even speak evil of their own family.   That’s a pretty nasty bunch of people, and quite a list of things against them.  Hopefully none of us fall into any of those rebukes.

21 These things hast thou done, and I kept silence; thou thoughtest that I was altogether such an one as thyself: but I will reprove thee, and set them in order before thine eyes.

22 Now consider this, ye that forget God, lest I tear you in pieces, and there be none to deliver.

23 Whoso offereth praise glorifieth me: and to him that ordereth his conversation aright will I shew the salvation of God.

God says He has let the wicked off the hook so far, but judgement is coming.  He will reprove them and set them in order.  But they need to consider one thing.  Just one thing.  When we offer praise, we glorify God!  That is what he desires from us.  Praise!

I hear pastors and evangelists ask all the time “How is your prayer life?”  Today, I want to ask you “How is your praise life?”  Are you able to praise God even in the most difficult times?  Are you glorifying His name when your inner battles are raging?  He has not changed.  No matter what is going on in our lives, He is still the God of all creation, and the one who will rescue you.  He deserves our praise no matter what we are going through.  Giving glory to His name is our means of deliverance!  Praise brings victory my friends.  So let’s set our minds and our hearts to glorifying God!

Leave a Reply

