Psalms

Bring Me Back, Lord!

Psalm 51:10-13

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

Here we have a beautiful song that I absolutely love to sing. It’s a prayer song and the prayer is one that we should be praying on a regular basis. David penned these words after confessing his sin and his transgression over his affair with Bathsheba. What he asks for here is something we may all need.  As you read these words,  examine your lives and see where you stand.

Because of his transgression David realizes that his heart might be damaged. Do you know that you can damage your heart?  I know that sin, if I don’t face it head on,  will get worse, and my heart will deceive me into thinking it’s okay. So David says create a Clean Heart in me lord. Not just restore my heart – create something new!

Sin will also affect our spirit. It will make us remorseful and sad that we have committed such a thing.  Our spirit can be weighed down with sorrow.  I remember when I realized that my sin was against God I was deeply sorrowful to the point of weeping continually at the altar.  I need God to renew a right spirit within me because my spirit was hurting and I needed to be made right. Only God can do that kind of work

11 Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me.

Have you ever felt like you moved out of the presence of God because of your sin? I know that I sure did. I felt like God was a long way away but I also knew that He heard my prayer because the word says He does. So I trusted that even though I thought his presence was gone from me, He would still hear my cry. David believed the same thing otherwise he wouldn’t be crying out in this song.

David was even afraid that God might take the Holy Spirit away from him. It’s hard to know how much knowledge of the Holy Spirit they had in the Old Testament.  He’s not mentioned very often. But David obviously knows about the Holy Spirit and he wants to make sure that the spirit will go with him even though he has committed a grievous sin. I have to admit I’ve never felt that God would take his Holy Spirit away.

12 Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.

David had such remorse that he didn’t feel the joy of God’s salvation anymore. So David asks God to restore his joy once again.  I have to admit I’d be lost without the joy of Salvation in my heart. Such an uplifting feeling to know the Jesus Christ paid  the price for my sin and I don’t have to carry that burden anymore. That’s what gives me joy. So I can imagine David felt the same way about joy, and so he pleaded with God to have the joy that he once had. When my sin was found out it greatly affected my joy for quite a while.  I never want to be in that position again

He also asked God to uphold him. He didn’t want to stumble and fall anymore. He had done enough to displease God, now he just wanted to get back to a right relationship with him. So he asks God to hold him up and keep him from falling. I think this is a prayer that we can all pray – asking God to protect us.  Temptations will come and, if he’s holding us, it’ll be awfully hard for them to take root in our lives.  Submit yourself to the ever loving hand of Jesus!

13 Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee.

David turns right away to his testimony.  God, if you can do these things I have prayed in verses 10 through 12, then I can teach others of your love and they’ll be converted. You see how important your testimony is? How often do you share what God has done for you? When was the last time that you shared your salvation story? Do you talk to people about Christ when you’re going down the street, or when you’re in the grocery store, or whenever you  have the opportunity?   David had a desire to reach others with the good news. He had a heart for sinners, and would do what it takes to help them get out from under the burden of sin.  We need to help others get set free that as well

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

