From Boasting to Trusting

Psalm 52

Why boastest thou thyself in mischief, O mighty man? the goodness of God endureth continually.

The tongue deviseth mischiefs; like a sharp razor, working deceitfully.

Thou lovest evil more than good; and lying rather than to speak righteousness. Selah.

Thou lovest all devouring words, O thou deceitful tongue.

I remember when I was in my late teens and early twenties how  much we would boast about the mischief we got into, and it was a lot.  We boasted about how much we could drink, about the wild shenanigans we would pull with our cars, about the drugs we took, about the trouble we caused and didn’t get caught.  We boasted in our mischief!  My tongue was full of mischief, cutting people down and hurting them with a quick wit.  I did love evil more than good.  In fact, I rarely did good in the sense the world would look at it.  I lived verses 1-4 of this Psalm.

There is no doubt people like me still exist today.  I  am fortunate that I found life in Christ when I did.  I would probably be dead by now if He had not accepted my plea for forgiveness and redemption. I left those ways behind me.  Perhaps you know someone who seems  beyond redemption.  I was that person.  God can do a work in their lives, just as He did in mine.

God shall likewise destroy thee for ever, he shall take thee away, and pluck thee out of thy dwelling place, and root thee out of the land of the living. Selah.

The righteous also shall see, and fear, and shall laugh at him:

Lo, this is the man that made not God his strength; but trusted in the abundance of his riches, and strengthened himself in his wickedness.

Let them know that God will destroy them in the end.  They will not party in hell (something I thought I’d do).  They will not drink their beer in heaven (Yup, thought that too).  They will not just be buried and rot in the ground forever. (Yup, believed that too). Oh, their bodies will, but their spirit will either go to heaven or hell.  Their perception of heaven and hell is warped just like mine was.

David makes it very clear – God will destroy them.They trusted in their riches and were stronger and stronger in their wickedness.  They did not draw strength from God. Their destiny is in Gods hands, just like mine is.

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God: I trust in the mercy of God for ever and ever.

I will praise thee for ever, because thou hast done it: and I will wait on thy name; for it is good before thy saints.

See the contrast! David is growing and ripe.  A green olive tree – full of life.  Full of hope for a fruitful harvest.  Full of plenty to give to others.  He trusts in God’s mercy forever. Do you?  In the middle of your worst nightmare, do you trust Go’s mercy?  When you are sick as sick can be, do you trust God’s  mercy?  When your finances run dry, do you trust God’s mercy?  His mercy is greater than anything we will go through.  When we trust His mercy, nothing will shake us.

As a result of trusting His mercy, David will praise Him forever.  There is never a reason not to praise Him.  It seems like there are times that it’s hard to find the words to praise Him because we are so worried about our situation  But when we trust in His mercy, the situation gets smaller.  Whatever we have need of, He has done it already!  Just trust Him and wait – He will provide the answer.

Leave a Reply

