Trusting More Words Than David!

Psalm 56

Be merciful unto me, O God: for man would swallow me up; he fighting daily oppresseth me.

Mine enemies would daily swallow me up: for they be many that fight against me, O thou most High.

What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.

I love the fact that David keeps asking for mercy. I think many of us, if we are praying for the same things that David was praying for, would just ask God to take care of our enemy and get rid of him. Maybe we take the time to explain what’s happening to us but my guess is we just ask God to annihilate the enemy. But David explains his situation to God. How often do I do that?  I think we all just assume that God knows what’s going on – and He does. But I think prayer should be a conversation like David had. “Hey look Lord he’s going to swallow me up! He compasses me every day!  There are many that fight against me Lord. So be merciful to me”.  Let us have that kind of conversation with the Lord when we pray!  God’s Mercy is going to come to his rescue.

I need to remember that, when I am afraid, I’m going to trust you Lord. When you are sick you can trust the Lord. When you are in financial difficulties you can trust the Lord. When your friends have all turned their back on you, trust the Lord. In any situation where you feel threatened you’re going to trust the Lord. No, it’s not exactly what David says.  He says when he’s afraid he will trust the Lord. I believe we can put in any situation instead of afraid.  No matter what goes on in my life I should be trusting the Lord.

In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

Every day they wrest my words: all their thoughts are against me for evil.

They gather themselves together, they hide themselves, they mark my steps, when they wait for my soul.

Shall they escape by iniquity? in thine anger cast down the people, O God.

This is kind of a repeat of verse 3 but it elaborates a little bit. David again says he has put his trust in the Lord His God and then he’s going to praise His word. Little did David know that his written words would be part of God’s word to future generations.  I never thought about that before!  David often talks about the attributes and the good things that are in the word but in his day all he had was the first five books of the Bible. That’s the word that he praised. Now we have David writings that we can praise trust in.  How many times do you turn to the Psalms of David for comfort?  It is an amazing thing to think about How much weight David put in the word of God, and now his own writings are part of that word to us!

David then says he’s not going to fear what man can do to him.  Every day they messed around with his words and their thoughts were evil against him.  They gather together and hide and they watch his steps and they just wait for him. Obviously David was afraid of an ambush!.  And they rise up against God’s anointed, David, who is still the king.  it’s interesting that David was so careful not to hurt the anointed king (Saul) while he was still alive even though David had been anointed king.  He knew he was going to be king but still he would not harm the current King. Now he’s asking for protection

Then David asked asked the Lord if they going to escape their iniquity?  He asked God to cast them down because he’s angry with them since they come against God’s anointed.  That is why David did not go after Saul – he didn’t want God after him!  He figured if you came after the anointed one then God would come after you. We better make sure we’re not picking on pastors and evangelists too much. If they are anointed by God we could be in big trouble for doing that.

Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?

When I cry unto thee, then shall mine enemies turn back: this I know; for God is for me.

10 In God will I praise his word: in the Lord will I praise his word.

11 In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid what man can do unto me.

God knows the wanderings of our heart.  He sees every tear we shed, and he puts them in a bottle and writers them in His book. God does not forget our tough times.  he is right in the middle of them!  And we can know, like David did, that when we cry to the Lord, our tears will reach God and He will turn back our enemies.

Again David says he’s going to praise the word and that he’s put his trust in God. He’s not going to be afraid what man can do.  There is such a deep comfort just knowing that God’s going to take care of us we put our trust in him.  We’re saying “I can’t handle it Lord. I need you to take hold and take care of the situation” and God always will.  God’s solution may not look like we thought it would.  He may not do it in the way that we think it should be done.  But whatever He does you can rest assured that it’s the best solution.

12 Thy vows are upon me, O God: I will render praises unto thee.

13 For thou hast delivered my soul from death: wilt not thou deliver my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of the living?

David says that God’s eyes are upon him.  I think that means that David realizes there is a covenant that has to be kept between him and God and David knows that God always keeps His covenant.

David recognizes that God has delivered him before and he will deliver him again. And David tells the Lord that when you deliver my feet from falling I will walk before you Lord. What that means is that he lived his life the way God wants him to. . We should follow that example and walk in he ways of he Lord every day.  After all, He has delivered us from hell through the sacrifice of His only Son.

Leave a Reply

