Be Exalted, Oh God!

Psalm 57

Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.

I will cry unto God most high; unto God that performeth all things for me.

He shall send from heaven, and save me from the reproach of him that would swallow me up. Selah. God shall send forth his mercy and his truth.

The cry for Mercy continues from David.  This time he asks the Lord to be merciful upon him because he trusts the Lord. When we trust the Lord we can rely on his Mercy.  David said he would take refuge in the shadow of his wings. I imagine David watched the birds quite often while tending the sheep, and he saw that the mother would protect the eggs with her wings.  When the little ones came about she would use her wings to cover them in the storms. This is the reference that David is making. Just like the storms, the calamities that are upon him will pass as he takes refuge in the Lord.  And so will ours.

In verse 2 David says God has performed all things for me.   This reminds me of Proverbs 3:6 which says “In all your ways acknowledge Him”. David is his knowledge that God does everything.  Do you acknowledge all the things that God does for you?   God does provide us everything we need on this Earth – give Him praise for that.

Davud knows that God will send from heaven and rescue him from his enemies and He will do this by his mercy and his truth. Mercy and truth coupled together is essential in the church today.  I think we spend too much time on mercy and not enough on truth. The truth is that if you don’t accept Jesus Christ as your savior then heaven is not your home. We have plenty of churches that are not preaching that message and those pastors will be held accountable.  Preaching mercy without truth is a very soft gospel.  Preaching truth without mercy s a very strict gospel.  A fine balance needs to be preached!

My soul is among lions: and I lie even among them that are set on fire, even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword.

Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens; let thy glory be above all the earth.

They have prepared a net for my steps; my soul is bowed down: they have digged a pit before me, into the midst whereof they are fallen themselves. Selah.

David says he is among people that are like lions. Their teeth are spears and arrows and their tongues are sharp swords. It is obvious the people are speaking things against David on a regular basis. Their words are not only cutting David apart but other people as well. There mean and nasty. But as we see so often David exalts the Lord and glorifies Him. David uses his words for the right purpose and God will reward him for that. Even though David says that they have set a net for him and they’ve dug a pit for him, they are falling into their own trap. This is because David exalted the Lord and gave him the glory.

My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.

Awake up, my glory; awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

Is your heart fixed in giving God praise?  Do you praise him no matter what the situation is?  If it seems the whole world is against you, do you still praise him? When your heart is fixed, as David’s is, you praise him no matter what the situation is!  David even gives himself a wake-up call!   Sometimes we have to will ourselves to praise the Lord. If you have to do that then do it!  Just make sure you’re praising God no matter what the situation because your praise is your victory.  Time after time in the Bible we see praise bring the victory.  Joshua at Jericho (Joshua 6), Gideon (Judges 7), Jehoshaphat (2 Chronicles 20) are three examples.

I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: I will sing unto thee among the nations.

10 For thy mercy is great unto the heavens, and thy truth unto the clouds.

11 Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: let thy glory be above all the earth.

This is a psalm of praise – no doubt about it.  David says I’ll praise you among the people and among the Nations. Do you say praise the Lord when you’re out in the public?  Do you let people know you serve an awesome God?  Do you let people know that his mercy is great and his truth is even greater?  We need to be proclaiming this on a regular basis. I think that’s one of the reasons that David’s words go down through time because he gave God praise in every situation. Then he repeats the words “Be exalted, Oh God, above the heavens: let your glory be above all the Earth”: I could sing that chorus a hundred times. He’s a great God and He deserves all of our praise.  I know I don’t praise Him enough. Do you?

Leave a Reply

