How To Deal With The Enemy, Again!

Psalm 59

Deliver me from mine enemies, O my God: defend me from them that rise up against me.

Deliver me from the workers of iniquity, and save me from bloody men.

For, lo, they lie in wait for my soul: the mighty are gathered against me; not for my transgression, nor for my sin, O Lord.

They run and prepare themselves without my fault: awake to help me, and behold.

Thou therefore, O Lord God of hosts, the God of Israel, awake to visit all the heathen: be not merciful to any wicked transgressors. Selah.

I bet every one of us feels this way sometimes. We want God to Deliver us from our enemies. We want God to defend us against people who rise up against us. We want God to deliver us from those who work iniquity against us. That’s not an unusual request. I would guess that we all have people who speak badly about us to others at times, or give us a hard time at work. We all have people who, once in awhile, will get mad at us and rise up against us. And we probably all have people who do sinful things against us like gossip or talk behind our backs negatively. I hope and pray that you are praying this type of Prayer instead of taking matters into your own hands. And if you do take matters into your own hands do it the right way. Jesus laid out a formula for us to air our grievances against those who come against us.

David says they’re  just waiting together against him. Not for anything that he’s done wrong or any sins that he’s committed. They just prepare themselves for no fault of his. Of course he wants God to help him. Do you have people that come against you for no reason that you can think of? I wonder sometimes if those people are put into our lives because God is working on us. I learned a long time ago that when someone is bothering me I need to ask the Lord what needs to change in me so that that person will not bother me anymore. I believe many times God is working on me through that person. It puts a whole new perspective on things.

In verse 5 David asked God once again to awake and visit them and to not be merciful to their transgressions. This is a very interesting statement because David knows that God is a God of Mercy. How many times have we talked about David asking God to be merciful to him? David does not want any Mercy on his enemies. What is it that Jesus says in the Beatitudes? Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain Mercy. Let’s see what else David asked the Lord to do.

 

They return at evening: they make a noise like a dog, and go round about the city.

Behold, they belch out with their mouth: swords are in their lips: for who, say they, doth hear?

But thou, O Lord, shalt laugh at them; thou shalt have all the heathen in derision.

Because of his strength will I wait upon thee: for God is my defence.

10 The God of my mercy shall prevent me: God shall let me see my desire upon mine enemies.

We see that these people who are coming against him are actually surrounding the city at night and making all kinds of noise. Isn’t that interesting. They cry out with their mouths and swords are in their lips for whoever will hear them. We talked about their teeth being swords in the last two lessons. These people were persistent in there ability to aggravate David.

David says that God will laugh at them so he will wait on God’s strength and not depend on his own strength because God is his defense. Oh how I wish I would always wait on God’s strength to face any enemies that I have. He gives me strength, but many times I rely on My Own Strength to try and solve the situation and I really make a mess of it. I need to rely on his strength and wait for his strength before I try to do anything when the enemy attacks.

And here’s that Mercy again. David says the God of my Mercy shall prevent me from going after them and will help me to wait on Him. He will eventually let me see my desire on my enemy.

 

11 Slay them not, lest my people forget: scatter them by thy power; and bring them down, O Lord our shield.

12 For the sin of their mouth and the words of their lips let them even be taken in their pride: and for cursing and lying which they speak.

13 Consume them in wrath, consume them, that they may not be: and let them know that God ruleth in Jacob unto the ends of the earth. Selah.

14 And at evening let them return; and let them make a noise like a dog, and go round about the city.

15 Let them wander up and down for meat, and grudge if they be not satisfied.

After remembering that God has Mercy on him, David says don’t slay them Lord. This is a change from earlier in the psalm!  David knows about Mercy and he knows about God’s mercy. He does not want them to be slain because he is afraid if they are not around anymore the people will forget the provocation that they brought against Israel. So instead he asks God to scatter them and bring them down as a force against Israel.

Notice that David says let them be taken in their pride which is what shows in the words of their mouth and their lips through the cursing and the lying that they speak. Here is a bold truth that we all need to recognize. People who act like this are acting in Pride. And God hates Pride. Some of you may be following the pride series that I am doing on this blog site period.  Pride part one and part two have already published. The third part in the series we’ll come out this Saturday in the fourth will come out the following Saturday. In these two parts we deal with various manifestations of pride. I encourage you to read these when they come out and welcome your comments and questions.

David ask God to consume them that they might not be. As we look back on Gross 11 he is not asking God to Kill Them All. He is asking God to consume them as a cohesive force against him and scatter them so they do not have the strength as an army against him. And then he says let them come back and make noises so the people will remember

16 But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.

17 Unto thee, O my strength, will I sing: for God is my defence, and the God of my mercy.

And, I love it, David breaks out in Praise. He is going to sing of God’s power and God’s mercy because he has been his defense. David is such an inspiration when it comes to praising the Lord. I think that’s why his words ring down through time more than anyone else’s. He knew how to praise God in the difficult times. This is the most important time to praise him because He is the God of our defense and the God of our Mercy. What an awesome God we serve

Leave a Reply

