Psalm 61

Psalm 61

Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.

From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

David will forever cry unto the Lord. He knows that the Lord is faithful to answer and to hear his request, but he still asks. How often do we just come to God and start asking for things but not asking him to hear us. Shouldn’t we preface our prayers by asking God to hear us and to attend unto our prayers?  If you’re going to seek counsel of a King you would have to get permission to come before him. It is only right that we ask to come into God’s presence! I love that David does this in this psalm, and in many others.

When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I – what beautiful words. How often does your heart get overwhelmed?  Overwhelmed with the stress of life? Overwhelmed with the pace of life? Overwhelmed with the trials of life? I know I get overwhelmed quite often and I know that I can go to the rock that is higher than I. When the flood waters of life come crashing in I can get higher. When I feel like I’m sinking into deep quicksand I can get higher by going to the Lord

For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.

I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.

For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name.

Is God a shelter for you?  Have you gone to him at times when you really needed a place to get away. Maybe it’s a prayer closet, maybe it’s a park bench. Maybe it’s walking in the woods. Maybe it’s an early morning walk under a moonlit sky. Wherever you are with God that’s where He is your shelter. He’s also a strong tower from the enemy.  If you run into His arms He will protect you. He will keep you safe from all harm.

Saying he will abide in the Tabernacle forever tells me that he will lift his praise to God forever. That is my intention – to lift my praise to God until my dying breath, because He is so worthy of my praise. Trusting in the covert of His wings is something we talked about before. A mother bird will protect its babies under her wings until they’re ready to fly on their own.  We can trust the Lord to keep us in the shelter of His arms.

God has heard your vows. The question is have you kept your vows to God?  If we make a vow to God it better be yea and amen.  We need to keep that vow, and if we do it will give us the heritage of those that fear His name.  What is this heritage?   It is blessing here on Earth and eternal life in heaven.  I don’t want to miss out on any of that.

Thou wilt prolong the king’s life: and his years as many generations.

He shall abide before God for ever: O prepare mercy and truth, which may preserve him.

So will I sing praise unto thy name for ever, that I may daily perform my vows.

Here David said God is going to prolong his life and his years to many generations.  I’m accepting that promise!  Going through cancer right now, I’m believing God for many, many, many more years so I can praise Him and give Him glory. I believe He’s going to rise up and mighty testimony out of this cancer that’s going to reach the nation’s. It’s going to be exciting.

He says the king will abide before God forever. We will abide before God forever if we keep our vows. He says to prepare mercy and truth.  Here’s that coupling again that we talked about before – mercy and truth.  These must be included with each other – they cannot be separated.  This is what will preserve us in our walk with God.

And lastly he says he will sing praises to God forever and that will keep him performing his vows. If we are praising the Lord then we will keep our eyes on Him. And as our eyes are on Jesus we cannot help but remember the vows that we make to Him and keep them. It’s when we take our eyes off of Him that we start sinking,  just like Peter did when he got out of the boat  (Matt 14:22-33). By praising Him on a regular basis, He is at the forefront of our thoughts and minds. Remember Jesus said seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things will be added unto you (Matt 6:33). It is essential that we keep His praise on our lips at all times.

Leave a Reply

