Christmas

A Baby Changes Everything

The first time I heard this song, I broke down and wept.  But not for the reason you would think.  My oldest daughter brought us a lot of trouble. In and out of trouble with the law, high school dropout, drugs and alcohol all played a art n  distancing our relationship, although she always knew we were there for her if she needed us.  By her early 20’s, she was living in a neighboring town with a friend and we didn’t see her much.

I remember this day like it was yesterday.  I was sitting on our back deck relaxing.  My wife came out to the deck with that oldest daughter, Angela, and told me Angela had something to tell me.  I had not seen her for several months, so I wondered what this was all about.

“Dad, I’m pregnant” were her words.  She was so scared to tell me.  I had always been the Pharisee, expecting the girls to live by the rules, hard on them if they didn’t.  She had I no idea how I’d react, but she needed to tell  was us.  Our first grandchild was on the way.

I got up from my chair, walked over, and gave her a huge hug/  “Oh, that’s wonderful.  We’re here for you if you need anything”  was my response. She started crying, and we cried together.

That baby,  Taylor changed her life.  She got her GED, a college degree and now has 2 masters degrees in accounting.  Taylor is a wonderful 14 year old.  That baby changed everything for

Over 2,000 years ago, a baby came and also changed everything.  I pray this song ministers to you as we celebrate the season.

3 thoughts on “A Baby Changes Everything”

Leave a Reply

