Do You Know How to Wait?

Psalm 62

Truly my soul waiteth upon God: from him cometh my salvation.

He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence; I shall not be greatly moved.

Waiting in our society is a lost art. We have a microwave generation who expect things to be done right now. Cell phones keep us connected to each other 24 hours a day, and if you don’t get a response back on a text message within a few seconds you wonder why they’re ignoring you. Fast food is everywhere including our refrigerators and freezers and kitchen cupboards. Just pop it in the microwave for 5 minutes your meal is done. We travel faster down the highway then we ever have. Is it any wonder that we’ve forgotten how to wait on God.

David says we should truly wait upon the Lord because our salvation comes from God. What does it mean to wait on God?  What it means to me is that I never know when He’s going to answer my prayer. But I do know that His timing is perfect so if I don’t get an answer right away I wait. I don’t get upset, I don’t get bothered, I don’t stop praising Him, I don’t stop worshipping God, I don’t stop praying for the thing. I just wait. Just like you wait at a red light or at a doctor’s office.  You wait. Patiently lovingly wait.

God is our rock, our salvation and our defense. David says he he will not be moved and I don’t blame him. When you have that kind of a God on your side why would you move. He’s going to take care of you and if you think you can do it on your own, be my guest.  It’s not easy going through the things we do in life. We need somebody to be a rock and defense.  No one can to fill that role better than Jesus.

How long will ye imagine mischief against a man? ye shall be slain all of you: as a bowing wall shall ye be, and as a tottering fence.

They only consult to cast him down from his excellency: they delight in lies: they bless with their mouth, but they curse inwardly. Selah.

David talks to those who come against Him, wondering how long they can imagine mischief. Seems to me we had a lot of imagining mischief in our last presidential election and now it’s popping its ugly head back up again. Look at what David says will happen to those who imagine mischief. They will be like a tottering fence. They’re going to fall into the hands of God for coming against God’s man

He says they only consult to cast down the Lord and they delight in lies. They bless with their mouth but curse inwardly.  We see this a lot of that in our society.  People that on one hand are really nice to you in person but then, behind your back, they complain or gossip anout you to somebody else. That’s just not God’s way.  If you’re talking bad things behind people’s back, put it away you don’t do it anymo

My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.

He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved.

In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.

Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.

Again David talks to his soul and says wait only upon God – that’s when I expect to get help. What is our expectation when we go to God? Do you expect Him to answer right now? Do you expect Him to answer your prayer exactly as you prayed it? You know the funny story about the guy who prayed for a million bucks and you got a million deer bucks!

David repeats that only God is his Rock and his salvation and his defense.  He shall not be moved.  I love the descriptive words that David uses –  H’s my salvation, my glory, the rock of my strength and my refuge. David has no doubt in his mind that God will protect him.  He uses the strongest of terms they had in those days to say this God of mine is the best. I can trust him at all times. At all times. In the worst times I can trust him. In the best times I can trust him. What I’m going through horrendous trials in my life I can trust him. It just doesn’t matter what’s going on in my life because He is my glory, my stronghold, my strength, my refuge, my rock and my salvation. I can trust him

Surely men of low degree are vanity, and men of high degree are a lie: to be laid in the balance, they are altogether lighter than vanity.

10 Trust not in oppression, and become not vain in robbery: if riches increase, set not your heart upon them.

Now David talks about men of low degree and says they’re just vain. Everything that they do turns to nothing. These people just aren’t worth our time except to preach the gospel to them. They can’t be a good influence on us. I was one of those men of low degree at one time in my life.  A Christian would have no reason to hang out with me then. But God came through when an old friend turned up at a class reunion.  He started planting seeds of the Gospel into my life that led to my salvation. We never know who we’re going to touch and when. But for the most part those men of low degree I just paid. And then men of high degree are there Ally you God will leave them in the balance. They’re even he says they are lighter than vanity I guess I’m not sure exactly what that means but I don’t know what vanity means and that means that life is really about nothing

We don’t need to trust in the oppression of other people, because we trust in God. Sometimes we get into a position where we trust more that a trial is going to happen than we believe that God will deliver us from that trial. This is never true. Nothing is more powerful than God, and God will deliver us.  David also gives a warning that if our riches should increase, we should not set our heart on them either. Remember Jesus said don’t lay up for yourselves Treasures on this Earth but lay up Treasures in Heaven (Matt 6:20)

11 God hath spoken once; twice have I heard this; that power belongeth unto God.

12 Also unto thee, O Lo belongeth mercy: for thou renderest to every man according to his work.

David heard the Lord say twice the power belongs to God – He is all-powerful. There is nothing that can stop Him from doing what He said He will do, absolutely nothing. He’s a great God who loves us more than we can possibly imagine.  David says that to God belongs Mercy and that because of Mercy God will render to every man according to his works.  We have a very merciful God who loves us just for who we are.  Do your best to serve him all your life, because He loves you with an everlasting love

This is a little chorus I wrote a few years ago hat shares the sentiment of waiting on God:

I am waiting on you, Lord

Not sure what I should do, Lord

For the trials of this life are weighing me down

All my hope is in you Lord

To help me find a way through

There is nothing you can’t do

So I’ll wait on you

I’m placing my hope in you

You’ll give me faith so I might make it through

Help me to wait on you

.

Leave a Reply

