The Lovingkindness of the Lord

Psalm 63

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;

To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.

Can you see how much David loved the Lord in these words?  His passion should be mimicked by every Christian.  He seeks God early.  I love to seek the Lord when I first get up in the morning.  It sets the stage for the whole day.  When I lift up praise in the morning, it follows me all the day long.

David is so hungry for God that he says his soul is thirsty, and his flesh longs for God.  David’s relationship with God affected his whole being.  He felt empty without God. He felt parched, like he was dried out.  I must admit that I have not had that kind of feeling.  But I do know that if i go so long without giving God praise, I feel like I am empty inside.  His spirit within me longs to praise Him, and it’s up to us to allow that spirit of praise to escape our lips.  Let your praises be heard!

David also longs to see God’s power and glory at work in his life.  He sees it in the sanctuary, and he desires it to be there all the time.  Oh, how I desire that same thing.  The power and the glory of God to manifest itself in my life, so I can share it with those around me.  My desire is to so walk in that power that I can pray for the healing of others, and walk in the glory so others will see Christ in me and desire to be saved.  That is the desire of my heart.

Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.

Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name.

This is another favorite old chorus that we used to sing all the time.  Simple, yet so full of truth.  His lovingkindness is all we need – it’s better than life itself.  And because He has shared His lovingkindness with me, I will ist up my hands and praise Him!

My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips:

When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. being satisified as with marrow and fatness.

Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.

I know all about marrow now.  Marrow is where all the blood cells are made that travel throughout our body.  It’s where life itself comes from.   I know because I have had 2 stem cell, or bone marrow transplants in the last 6 months.  I have Multiple Myeloma, a cancer that affects the blood.  They had to get all the infected cells out, and recycle my blood to put in good cells.

I realize David did not know quite that much about it, but he uses the terms marrow and fatness in explaining how his soul will be satisfied.  Our bodies must have marrow and fat to survive.  David was given extraordinary wisdom to pen these lines.  he also  says he will praise him with joyful lips.  I can associate with that!  Joy is so evident when praising the Lord, or at least it should be.  Exuberance should be a regular aspect of our worship to God.  Because he has been our help, and has kept us under His wing.

My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.

But those that seek my soul, to destroy it, shall go into the lower parts of the earth.

10 They shall fall by the sword: they shall be a portion for foxes.

11 But the king shall rejoice in God; every one that sweareth by him shall glory: but the mouth of them that speak lies shall be stopped.

I have to ask myself if my soul follows hard after God.  Is my deepest burning desire to be in His presence and to sing His praises.  Or are there things in this world I go hard after, like wealth, or possessions or fame?  Or maybe I go hard after friends on this earth, or maybe I follow hard after my career.  I can tell you that my desire is to follow hard after God, and I am getting there, putting aside the things of this world to draw closer to him.  After all, His hand does uphold me.  I can always depend on Him being there to lift me out of my troubles.  He will never fail me.

Those that would seek to do me harm will not prosper in their goal.  They will  go down when I leave them in God’s hands.  David says they will fall by the sword, and be a portion for the foxes.  To me this is saying that if I will allow God to deal with those that oppress me, He will take care of them in His own way, and we don;t need to worry about it.  Oh, that I could learn to do that!

Everyone that swears by the Lord will glory – that’s what I want in my life – to glory.  I used to have an evangelist friend who loved to say “Oooh, glory” when he felt the spirit of the Lord in the house.  He has passed on, but I can still hear tha saying echo down through time.  I want to be where the glory is,.  Not that I want to receive any glory – the glory belongs to the Lord.  But if I am in the glory, than I am close to Him!  That’s where I want to be.

Leave a Reply

