Psalms

Hurry Up, Lord

Psalm 70

1  Make haste, o God, to deliver me; make haste to help me, O Lord.

“Hurry up, Lord, hurry up. I need an answer now. I can’t wait any longer”

. Does this sound familiar? How many of us have prayed a prayer like that before (I just raised my hand). And David would have to raise his to. There are many times that we think we need an answer right away. And sometimes God will give us the answer right away. But other times He may say wait and those are the difficult times. What do you do when those difficult time comes and your answer doesn’t come the way you would like it too? Well let’s see what David does in the coming verses.

Let them be ashamed and confounded that seek after my soul: let them be turned backward, and put to confusion, that desire my hurt.

Let them be turned back for a reward of their shame that say, Aha, aha.

He asked God to make the people that seek after his soul to be ashamed and confounded and turned back and put to confusion. I find it interesting he doesn’t ask for their destruction in this case. He just wanted to mess with their minds a little bit. Maybe show them the error of their ways. He wants God to turn them around so they’ll go the other direction and forget about him. You know a lot of times when somebody’s picking on us tit may take a while before they turn around and go pick on somebody else. And often times the way that they stop is if we don’t let them know that they’re getting to us. If a bully like that knows that they’re getting to you they’ll just keep going – they won’t stop. But if they don’t see that it’s hurting you or affecting you then they might decide to go to somebody else and see if they can bother them. There whole deal is to get attention and reaction. So don’t give it to him

In this case David wants to be delivered right away but he just wants God to send his enemy in the other direction. David’s having mercy on his enemies. Have you ever tried using mercy to get rid of an enemy?  Too often we take the hard road instead of trying mercy. No they don’t deserve mercy. They’ve been mean to you and giving you a hard time and they don’t deserve you being nice to them. But what the heck – if what you’re doing isn’t working why not try showing them mercy.

Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: and let such as love thy salvation say continually, Let God be magnified.

But I am poor and needy: make haste unto me, O God: thou art my help and my deliverer; O Lord, make no tarrying.

Well, what did you expect David to do – cry about it? Of course he rejoices and praises the Lord. Yes he wants an answer right away but the fact that he doesn’t have an answer is not going to affect his worship. Oh, how we need to have that attitude. Yes, Lord,, I’m waiting for an answer but, while I’m waiting, I’m going to praise you. I’m going to seek you and I’m going to rejoice and I’m going to be glad in you. I am going to magnify Your Name Lord. You know that the word says if Jesus Christ be lifted up He will draw all men unto Him (John 12:32). Just like the serpent was raised in the wilderness so has He been lifted it up. And if we lift Him up with our praise then the enemy will be drawn to Him and He will scatter them – Hallelujah.  Or, better yet, maybe they will get saved!

Then David says I am poor and needy.  Hurry up, Lord, because you are my help and my deliverer. He is your help and your deliver. What are you going through right now? Do you have an enemy that’s giving you a hard time all the time?  Give him to the Lord. Don’t try to handle it yourself.  I ask  God to work a miracle in your life today. He’s just waiting for you to cry out to Him.  Hurry up, Lord!  I’m waiting.   I can’t wait much longer but I’m going to praise you until I get an answer.

Leave a Reply

