Psalms

Tell It Like It Is

Psalm 69

Save me, O God; for the waters are come in unto my soul.

I sink in deep mire, where there is no standing: I am come into deep waters, where the floods overflow me.

Have you ever felt completely overwhelmed but your situation. Have you felt like you’re sinking in deeper and deeper and there just doesn’t seem to be a way to get out?. If you have felt like this then you know how David feels. I have had times that I felt like this and I didn’t know where to turn. I was in a position but I didn’t even know if God would help me. David’s cry to save him was the same cry that I made it that time. And God took me to a place that was my salvation at the time. I praise Him that He will answer our prayers no matter how far in the muck and mire we might sink in

I am weary of my crying: my throat is dried: mine eyes fail while I wait for my God.

They that hate me without a cause are more than the hairs of mine head: they that would destroy me, being mine enemies wrongfully, are mighty: then I restored that which I took not away.

O God, thou knowest my foolishness; and my sins are not hid from thee.

Let not them that wait on thee, O Lord God of hosts, be ashamed for my sake: let not those that seek thee be confounded for my sake, O God of Israel.

Because for thy sake I have borne reproach; shame hath covered my face.

I am become a stranger unto my brethren, and an alien unto my mother’s children.

For the zeal of thine house hath eaten me up; and the reproaches of them that reproached thee are fallen upon me.

10 When I wept, and chastened my soul with fasting, that was to my reproach.

11 I made sackcloth also my garment; and I became a proverb to them.

12 They that sit in the gate speak against me; and I was the song of the drunkards.

13 But as for me, my prayer is unto thee, O Lord, in an acceptable time: O God, in the multitude of thy mercy hear me, in the truth of thy salvation.

David describes his situation to God. I think a lot of times we just go to God In prayer and say help me Lord. But we don’t take the time to describe our situation to God. We think to ourselves that God knows what I’m going through – why do I need to tell Him. The truth is that God places a lot of emphasis on our words, just like he placed a lot of emphasis on His words. He wants us to say things so that He knows that we know what our situation is. There’s something about verbalizing things that makes them more real in our minds. So from now on when you go to God In Prayer about a particular situation take a lesson from David. Tell God what the situation is that you’re praying about it in detail. You might be surprised what happens in your prayer life.
David has been crying so much that it’s tired him out, and his eyes are tired as well. He says that the number of people that are against him is so many that he cannot count them and he tells God that God knows he’s been foolish.  David knows it isn’t on hid from God.  God knows that they’re waiting for him. He admits he’s become a stranger to his own brothers and sisters.  He has been jealous for the house of God and that is something that the people are holding against him.  But through all this is prayer unto God. The asks that God will have Mercy on him because he believes in the truth of God’s salvation. David has such a beautiful way of describing what the people are doing to him. He doesn’t belittle them but he asked God to take care of the situation.

14 Deliver me out of the mire, and let me not sink: let me be delivered from them that hate me, and out of the deep waters.

15 Let not the waterflood overflow me, neither let the deep swallow me up, and let not the pit shut her mouth upon me.

16 Hear me, O Lord; for thy lovingkindness is good: turn unto me according to the multitude of thy tender mercies.

17 And hide not thy face from thy servant; for I am in trouble: hear me speedily.

18 Draw nigh unto my soul, and redeem it: deliver me because of mine enemies.

David asks for deliverance from the mire that I talked about earlier.  He asked God to take him out of the deep waters, he doesn’t want to be swallowed up. Just like we don’t want to be swallowed up by those trials and tests that come our way. We want God to deliver us before things get too deep. The thing is too often what we think of as too deep isn’t deep enough for God. He wants to take us to the point that only He can save us. We typically want to be delivered way before that. We must remember that his timing is always perfect.
David asks God to hear him and he pleads to His loving-kindness and His Tender Mercies. David is always appealing to God’s mercy and we should too  It is His mercy that keeps us alive.  David asks God not to hide his face and then asks Him to draw near to him.  Don’t you love it when God draws near to you. I sure love feeling the presence of the Lord next to me. And it can come at any time – it doesn’t have to be at a church service with everybody praising the Lord.  It can be in my own home in the comfort of my living room.  I have felt the presence of God every where I go. All I need to do is reach up and praise Him and He inhabits the Praises.

19 Thou hast known my reproach, and my shame, and my dishonour: mine adversaries are all before thee.

20 Reproach hath broken my heart; and I am full of heaviness: and I looked for some to take pity, but there was none; and for comforters, but I found none.

21 They gave me also gall for my meat; and in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.

22 Let their table become a snare before them: and that which should have been for their welfare, let it become a trap.

23 Let their eyes be darkened, that they see not; and make their loins continually to shake.

24 Pour out thine indignation upon them, and let thy wrathful anger take hold of them.

25 Let their habitation be desolate; and let none dwell in their tents.

26 For they persecute him whom thou hast smitten; and they talk to the grief of those whom thou hast wounded.

27 Add iniquity unto their iniquity: and let them not come into thy righteousness.

28 Let them be blotted out of the book of the living, and not be written with the righteous.

David says God you know the things I’ve done wrong. You know that I have a broken heart from the things I’ve done wrong and that my soul is heavy. We should always describe the God exactly how we feel. David doesn’t hesitate to tell God what he is thinking to the very detail. I seldom do that. I usually assume that He knows. We can learn so many valuable lessons about our prayer life from David. We see in verse 21 what many say is a prophecy about Jesus because they gave him vinegar to drink on the cross.
Then David talks about what he’d like to do to his enemy.  He asks that their friends would become a snare, that their eyes will be darkened, that there legs would shake and that God would pour out his wrath and indignation on them. Get specific with God. Tell it like it is. Don’t hold back anything from God. David goes so far as to say that the enemies be blotted out of the book of the living but they will not be written with the righteous.  They will head to eternal destruction.

29 But I am poor and sorrowful: let thy salvation, O God, set me up on high.

30 I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify him with thanksgiving.

31 This also shall please the Lord better than an ox or bullock that hath horns and hoofs.

32 The humble shall see this, and be glad: and your heart shall live that seek God.

33 For the Lord heareth the poor, and despiseth not his prisoners.

David asks God to set him up on high because of his salvation and then he starts praising him. As I sit here dictating this I’m in tears.  Watching David come from the place of deep, deep emotional hurt and pain over what he’s done and how the enemy is coming against him – and he starts praising the Lord and magnifying Him with Thanksgiving. Over and over again we see David do this. In the midst of his suffering he Praises God. What a lesson we can learn from this. The darkest hours are the best times to praise God. The fact that he’s going to praise him with a song will please God more than any sacrifice that he can give. Because the Lord hears the poor he hears those that are hurting he hears those that need his help not just those who want his help.

34 Let the heaven and earth praise him, the seas, and every thing that moveth therein.

35 For God will save Zion, and will build the cities of Judah: that they may dwell there, and have it in possession.

36 The seed also of his servants shall inherit it: and they that love his name shall dwell therein.

Now he says everybody should praise him – the heavens and the Seas and everything that moves.  Because God Will Save the city of God and all the Earth  I want to make sure I leave behind me a legacy that God Was Here.  God sustained me. That God kept me. That God healed me. That God delivered me. That God was always my strength and my shield. That God never ever forsake me. That’s what I want people to say when I’m gone

5 thoughts on “Tell It Like It Is”

  1. This morning, I was beginning to pray over things I feel as if I have exhausted myself in prayer over for years on end. I was overwhelmed by it and I started to take on the attitude, “What is the use of even praying over these things anymore? For what purpose? Nothing has changed, it probably won’t change, and it has been this way for decades now.”

    Thanks for a blog post that seeks to challenge that attitude!! I needed that today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I have felt the presence of God every where I go. All I need to do is reach up and praise Him and He inhabits the Praises” I love this part of your post. It spoke to me so much! It is easy to call on God when we are in trouble, but I know I need to work on keeping Him close to me, always and everywhere. Thanks for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

