The Most Amazing Caregiver

20161212_172538

I don’t have to go far to find an act of kindness that sticks out to me.  I can just look across the living room at my wife.  To say that she has risen above and beyond what I could ever have expected would be an understatement.

When I came down with cancer in March of 2016, we knew that it was going to be a long treatment and recovery.  My  wife, Janeen, would be my caregiver through this process.  That puts a tremendous weight on her shoulders.  Now you have to realize that she works a full time job (40 hours a week), and she also works  apart-time job in the evenings (which she loves) at a local restaurant 4 nights a week.  She is a very busy lady.  Plus she loves to do crafty things, and is constantly being asked to sew or make something for someone, especially now around the holidays.  A very busy lady.

Now, all the household chores are dropped in her lap, plus taking care of my medications, and making sure all my needs are taken care of.  Usually, I do most of the household chores, and I can’t do much of that even now.  About all I can do is load and unload the dishwasher.  So cleaning, laundry, vacuuming, taking out the trash – it all falls on her.  On top of the two jobs and crafts.

And she has been nothing short of amazing.  She is up to the task.. I think God has given her an extra shot of stamina and grace through this period, because she has done above and beyond what I could ever expect. Kindness – over the hill kindness.  She has instilled a hope in me for a great future as I continue to heal and get stronger.  We will beat this thing together.

 

In response to the Hope Gone Viral prompt

3 thoughts on “The Most Amazing Caregiver

Leave a Reply

