Psalms

My Hope Abides In Him!

Psalm 71

In thee, O Lord, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion.

Deliver me in thy righteousness, and cause me to escape: incline thine ear unto me, and save me.

Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress.

Deliver me, O my God, out of the hand of the wicked, out of the hand of the unrighteous and cruel man.

For thou art my hope, O Lord God: thou art my trust from my youth.

In verse 3 we see David declaring that God is his strong habitation.  David puts his trust in Him and God is his hope. There’s so much there that I can comment on I will try to keep it brief.

 First God is his strong habitation. In the New Testament especially in John chapter 15, Jesus tells his disciples that they need to abide in him. We have a lot of questions as to what it really means to abide in Christ.  My understanding is that it means we abide in his word: that we live according to what the word says on a daily basis. That means we practice the disciplines, we do the things that it asks us to do, we conduct Our Lives the way that God would want us to. That’s abiding in Christ. I believe that David did this as well if God was his strong habitation. He also called God his Rock and his Fortress.  This all goes into the same thing ia his habitation. He lives there, he breathes there, his life is totally caught up in God. Let’s be like that and continually resort to God.
In God he puts his Trust. Exactly how far do you trust the Lord? Proverbs 3:5 tells us to trust the Lord with all our heart and lean not to your own understanding. How often do you go your way instead of trusting God to take you where He wants to take you. I know very often I want to try to get out of my own circumstances and do it my way. It seems to happen faster if I do it my way. Especially when those circumstances are difficult. I don’t want to wait on God – I want to get them done with. But this is the wrong attitude to take.  The right attitude is to trust that God knows exactly what He’s doing, which He does, and that He will get us out of this circumstance in His time, not necessarily and Ours. That’s trusting in the Lord
Third,  God his his hope. Is your hope in the Lord? Do you see him as the one who’s going to bring you through? When our hope is placed in Him then we know that he will be the end result and He will bring things to a positive conclusion. When our hope is in God we don’t have to worry about how something’s going to end up or how we’re going to get out of one situation to another situation. We know that he is victorious in all things.  When He is our hope we are always Victorious

By thee have I been holden up from the womb: thou art he that took me out of my mother’s bowels: my praise shall be continually of thee.

I am as a wonder unto many; but thou art my strong refuge.

Let my mouth be filled with thy praise and with thy honour all the day.

Cast me not off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength faileth.

David says he has been upheld by God ever since he was in the womb.  David recognizes the God is with us from the moment of conception. A lot of people wondered about David in verse 7.  They wondered whee he got his strength and his resolve.   David declares it is because God is his refuge. We talked about David’s mouth being filled with the Praises of God all the time. That is so evident in his writing that no matter how difficult the situation he’s in, he’s going to praise God.
In verse of 9 David says that he doesn’t want God to cast him off when he’s old or forsake Him when his strength fails. In a way I can identify with David right now because my strength is just a mere portion of what it was a year ago. I’m battling cancer and trying to come back in recovery right now. And I can understand how someone whose strength is failing him might think that God has cast him off. But in my case I know that that’s not true. God has been speaking to me more than He has ever spoken to me before because I’m in the word and I’m studying and I’m honoring him. If you’re an older person reading this and you feel like maybe God has abandoned you, I can tell you that nothing is further from the truth. He can use you more now than He ever has before. If you’ve got time on your hands then use it to glorify God in any way that you can and you will see Him work mightily in your lives

10 For mine enemies speak against me; and they that lay wait for my soul take counsel together,

11 Saying, God hath forsaken him: persecute and take him; for there is none to deliver him.

12 O God, be not far from me: O my God, make haste for my help.

13 Let them be confounded and consumed that are adversaries to my soul; let them be covered with reproach and dishonour that seek my hurt.

Wuth his enemies still around, David cries out to God about what his enemies are saying.  They think that God has forsaken him and is persecuting him, saying there’s no one to deliver him. We know that’s not true and David knows that’s not true.  The words that they say are just words. David asked God to not be far away and once again he asked him to hurry up and bring help.  He asked that the enemy would be confounded and that God would confuse them so they would not be able to come against him.  He asks that they would become a reproach and a dishonor on the face of this Earth. I love the way David prayed about his enemies.  W could learn a lesson there

14 But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more.

15 My mouth shall shew forth thy righteousness and thy salvation all the day; for I know not the numbers thereof.

16 I will go in the strength of the Lord God: I will make mention of thy righteousness, even of thine only.

Once again David says his hope is continuous and it doesn’t stop. You]ve got to praise God more and more wwhen your enemy is coming against you because that’s what God desires. We see once again that even facing his enemies David’s going to lift up the name of the Lord
He is also not going to try to go in his strength but in the strength of the Lord.  It is God that gives us the strength to fight and win our battles.  If we rely on ourselves, we will be in deep trouble because the battle is not against flesh and blood, but against evil spirits in this world who are out to take out the saints of God.  We need God’s strength and His righteousness to win those battles.

17 O God, thou hast taught me from my youth: and hitherto have I declared thy wondrous works.

18 Now also when I am old and greyheaded, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come.

19 Thy righteousness also, O God, is very high, who hast done great things: O God, who is like unto thee!

20 Thou, which hast shewed me great and sore troubles, shalt quicken me again, and shalt bring me up again from the depths of the earth.

David recognize the fact that God has taught him. This is a result of all the time that he spent alone with God while tending his sheep.  Just imagine being alone out there, night after night, as the youngest and looking at the stars so bright and just having that communion with God/ Imagine what God could teach you. We seldom have time to sit 5 minutes with God and allow him to teach us. David sat night after night after night under the most amazing stars you would have ever  seen and allowed God to teach him.  I wish I had that much time to allow God to teach me.
Now David says I am old.  Don’t forsake me until I’ve shown that your strength to this generation.  Are you working on showing your own generation the power and might of Jesus Christ, the righteousness of God, and the great things that He has done? God has show you Great and Mighty things – why not share it with your testimony to all those around you.  They’re dying for something concrete to help them through their struggles. You can be that one who will give them the strength to go on in the battle they’re facing.

21 Thou shalt increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side.

22 I will also praise thee with the psaltery, even thy truth, O my God: unto thee will I sing with the harp, O thou Holy One of Israel.

23 My lips shall greatly rejoice when I sing unto thee; and my soul, which thou hast redeemed.

24 My tongue also shall talk of thy righteousness all the day long: for they are confounded, for they are brought unto shame, that seek my hurt.

David declares that God will increase his greatness. Now that’s not something I would say any  of us should probably pray unless you’re talking about increasing your ministry.  In David’s case, he was talking about increasing his kingdom. David was a humble man.  I don’t think he took it as a prideful thing to ask God to increase his greatness.  We have to be careful how we ask that question
David talks about praising God with the psaltery and by singing and by rejoicing.  There’s so many ways that we can praise God. i Let’s use every method we can to uplift the name or our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ. This world needs Him more now than they’ve ever needed Him before and we need to be ready to talk about Him whenever we have a chance. He saved us and we need to worship and praise Him and talk of His great works in our lives to as many people as we can. That is our mission – that’s how we each become Ministers of the Gospel.

med

Leave a Reply

