Psalms

W hat Does The Lord Require – Part 3

This post is being written as part of the Bridges group, seeking to close the divide that is creeping into our society.  I want to thank Susan Irene Fox and Lilka Raphael for their work on this project and for inviting me to be a part.  For more information you can CLICK HERE  .

Micah 6:8 He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good;

and what doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy,

and to walk humbly with thy God?

 I urge you, if you have not read the first blog on doing justly, and the second on loving mercy , that you go back and read that first, because it sets the foundation.  This post will deal with the third principle – walking humbly with thy God.  I believe this one is sorely lacking in the church today, even more than the first two, and that until we get this one down, true revival may never come.  We hear many summon 2 Chr 7:14 as a call to the church for revival.  What is he first thing mentioned?  Humble ourselves.  This is the critical key to revival.

So how do we go about walking humbly with God.  First, we must recognize our pride.  Please do not tell me you don’t have any, because everyone has some pride.  The difference is some get it under control while others let pride control them.  There is no happy medium.  If you missed it, I have been writing a series on Pride, and I would urge you to go back and read through that, especially those of you who don’t think you have any.  Most likely, you have the most!  Pride is the enemy of humility.  If you do not address that first, humility will always be out of reach.  Believe me I have been through that fire, and you don’t want God dealing with your pride!  He will bring you low.  He wants you to deal with it, and learn to keep it in check.

Once your pride has been addressed, then it’s the learning process of preferring others above self (Phil 2:3-4).  It doesn’t matter what race, religion, culture, sex, occupation or any other factor is different about them, it’s our duty to see them as Christ saw us – worthy of our love.  I was a broken sinner and He loved me.  How much more should I love those on this earth.  Remember that Christ taught us if we help the least of our brethren, we have done it to Him. Likewise, if we hurt any of our brethren, we have done it to Christ.  I don’t want to hurt Him!  So. my goal and my aim is to help others and be kind and merciful to everyone God places in my path.  I must also have the mindset that God does – He wants all to be saved, and it’s up to me to touch the people He puts in my life.

Once I have learned the ministry part of this mentioned above, then I have to do that without pride building up in me because I am doing so much good.  It is so easy for pride to slip back in once my ministry starts to touch people.  I can begin to feel “important” and it can go to my head.  Humility attributes all to God and is honest.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with accepting a Thank you from someone when you have ministered to them.  In fact, pride can easily say “Oh, just give God the glory” when deep inside I accept it as my own.  Been there, done that!  Humility accepts the thank you and quietly and keeps it to himself, giving God the glory.

Humility is also quiet.  It does not boast or think it has more wisdom or knowledge than others.  Humility remains peaceful and calm in any situation, knowing God has it under control.  Humility remains broken before God, ready to be used in the next situation, no matter what that calls for.  We want to tell God what we will or won’t do – that is not humility.

To walk humbly before God means we are at His beck and call, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year – no exceptions.  Are you ready to make that commitment?

This ends our three-part series on what God requires.  I hope it has ministered as much to you as it has to me.  And I pray that the church will wake up and start to fulfill the call!  Maybe it will start with you!  If you would like to go b ack into the pride series, here are the links

Pride Part 1

Pride Part 2

Pride Part 3

Pride Part 4

Pride Part 5 will be published December 31st on this blog

4 thoughts on “W hat Does The Lord Require – Part 3”

Leave a Reply

