He Did It Before!

SPECIAL NOTE:  I will begin a study in Ephesians on my “Traveling with Paul” blog today.  My hope is to  post  every day.  Please join me by CLICKING HERE

Psalm 77

I cried unto God with my voice, even unto God with my voice; and he gave ear unto me.

In the day of my trouble I sought the Lord: my sore ran in the night, and ceased not: my soul refused to be comforted.

I remembered God, and was troubled: I complained, and my spirit was overwhelmed. Selah.

Thou holdest mine eyes waking: I am so troubled that I cannot speak.

I have considered the days of old, the years of ancient times.

I call to remembrance my song in the night: I commune with mine own heart: and my spirit made diligent search.

Asaph cries to the Lord in the day of his trouble and for some reason he could not be comforted. He remembered God and was troubled. His Spirit was overwhelmed. Do you ever get to this point?  When it seems like no matter how hard you cry out to God you still feel like He doesn’t care. Your trouble is still there and you’re confused and overwhelmed by the situation that you’re in. Well you know now that you’re not alone.   Asaph felt that way too.

 He tells us that God holds his eyes when he’s waking but he is still still so troubled he cannot speak.  He calls to remembrance a song that he had in the middle of the night and he talks to his own heart, but he still can’t find peace. I know there’s been times in my life when I felt just like Asaph. Especially recently with the side effects of this cancer driving me crazy – I question God. I am confused and overwhelmed. But I continue to praise Him and we will see what Asaph does as we go through the rest of this psalm.

Will the Lord cast off for ever? and will he be favourable no more?

Is his mercy clean gone for ever? doth his promise fail for evermore?

Hath God forgotten to be gracious? hath he in anger shut up his tender mercies? Selah.

Now Asaph really gets into some questioning of God.  He wonders if God will cast him off forever and if God will not be favorable anymore.  Is His mercy gone?  Will His promise fail?  Has He forgotten to be gracious? In his anger Has he closed His heart and shut up His mercies? What a list of things that we can be thankful for. I don’t think God does any of these things in verses of 7 through 9. Asaph felt that God may have changed in all these areas, but I don;t believe God will ever change like that.  We may feel like He has, but He won’t!
Do you ask any of these questions when God doesn’t provide an answer for your prayer right away. In this microwave generation we expect God to move when we want Him to move in the situations in our lives. And when we don’t get what we want, we wonder if he is still favorable to us or if He has cast us off. We wonder if He’s still going to be merciful to us or if His promises have failed. And perhaps we wonder if He has forgotten to be gracious to us and if He shut up his mercies so we will not receive them.  We can easily start to feel the same way Asaph did.
I’m here today to tell you that God will never do any of these things. If He is not answering your prayer, I would look very strongly at what you’re going through and know that God wants you to go through it!  God is good, so the end result will be good for you. I know that some of you will doubt that, but it is the truth, because God works all things for our good if we love him Romans 8:28

10 And I said, This is my infirmity: but I will remember the years of the right hand of the most High.

11 I will remember the works of the Lord: surely I will remember thy wonders of old.

12 I will meditate also of all thy work, and talk of thy doings.

13 Thy way, O God, is in the sanctuary: who is so great a God as our God?

14 Thou art the God that doest wonders: thou hast declared thy strength among the people.

15 Thou hast with thine arm redeemed thy people, the sons of Jacob and Joseph. Selah.

Asaph says he’s going to remember what God has done before.  He will remember the wonders that God did in the old times, and he will meditate on the word of the Lord and talk of what He’s done. When I feel like Asaph did in verses 7-9 7:39 it’s time for us to  remember what God has done before. Have you ever been sick and then were healed?  That’s God!  Do you have the ability to pay your rent or your mortgage and your electric bill?  Remember in all ll those things that God provided you a job!  He’s done it before for me, He will do it again!
If I can recognize the fact that God is a God of wonders. then I will know that God can take care of any situation I might be going through. I need to make sure I tell people about the strength of the Lord because He has redeemed us by His strength.  He went to the Cross to die for our sins.  He has redeemed us. I am so glad that He took me out of my sinful lifestyle and He allows me to live for Him

16 The waters saw thee, O God, the waters saw thee; they were afraid: the depths also were troubled.

17 The clouds poured out water: the skies sent out a sound: thine arrows also went abroad.

18 The voice of thy thunder was in the heaven: the lightnings lightened the world: the earth trembled and shook.

19 Thy way is in the sea, and thy path in the great waters, and thy footsteps are not known.

20 Thou leddest thy people like a flock by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

Asaph goes back to the Red Sea experience and talks about the water being afraid of God. I’m not sure that’ water is afraid of God, but I do know that the water obeys God and that’s a miracle in itself. Have you ever tried to control water? when I was in my early twenties we dammed up a river using rocks and dirt so that we could have a place to swim.  It wasn’t a big river and there was a pretty good flow. Little did we realize two miles downstream there was a hydroelectric plant and it counted on the flow from that river to generate electricity.  We stopped the water flow for about aday and had a blast swiimming there, but when we came back, the dam was gone. They never did find out who did it but for a little while we controlled the water
In Mark 4:35-41.  Jesus calms the storm.  I find the most miraculous thing about this story is that He calmed the sea!  Usually, the sea will keep going long after the wind stops  The sea is a relentless machine.  If you watch the waves coming in to the beach, they come about 5 Seconds apart, some bigger, some smaller, but their incessant. So when the Bible says that Jesus still the waters, he turned about the natural course of nature.
Asaph knows that God controls the waters. He knows that the people went through the water and the enemy did not. I have a feeling he also knows that God will bring him to through the trials he is going through.
Leave a Reply

