Better is One Day

Psalm 84 A Pslam by the sons of Korah

How amiable are thy tabernacles, O Lord of hosts!

My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.

Yea, the sparrow hath found an house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, even thine altars, O Lord of hosts, my King, and my God.

Blessed are they that dwell in thy house: they will be still praising thee. Selah.

I sure can relate to the writer here. I love to go to church. I love the fellowship, I love the music, I love the preaching and above all I love the atmosphere that is created when we are, worshiping the Lord. Due to the nature of the cancer that I have I have not been able to be in church because of the danger of infection. And I find the thing that I miss the most is the corporate worship. A number of people becoming one body and worshiping the Lord. I can sit in my living room and listen to worship music. I can raise my hands and raise my voice and minister to God In Praise. But nothing takes the place of corporate worship. My soul longs even faints for the courts of the Lord. I miss it so badly.

 The writer says the sparrow has found a house and the swallow has found a nest where they are going lay down their young and they can be safe. This is how the altar of the Lord is. It’s a place we can lay down our burdens and be safe. We don’t have to worry about the enemy attacking us when we are worshiping God. We’re blessed when we dwell in his house. I pray the day will come soon that I can get back to church and worship God with the congregation.

Blessed is the man whose strength is in thee; in whose heart are the ways of them.

Who passing through the valley of Baca make it a well; the rain also filleth the pools.

They go from strength to strength, every one of them in Zion appeareth before God.

Who do you rely on for your strength? It’s so easy for us too try to do it ourselves and live on our own merit. It makes us feel good then we’ve accomplished something and done it by ourselves. But the writer has it correct – a man is blessed if his strength is in God. When we rely on God for strength then he becomes our all in all. We don’t have to worry about whether we are strong enough to get through the storm or through the trial. We know that He will see us through. When we rely on our own strength, when the storm comes we are not sure if we willl make it through, and often we end up turning to Him anyway.  Why not just rely on Him from the start? I pray that everyday you rely on His strength and not your own, even in the easy times.  We need to go from strength to strength in the Lord.

O Lord God of hosts, hear my prayer: give ear, O God of Jacob. Selah.

Behold, O God our shield, and look upon the face of thine anointed.

10 For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.

The writer asks God to hear his prayer and to give ear to what he has to say. We’ve talked about this before – asking permission to come to God and asking him to hear our prayer. I know that I often just start praying – I don’t ask God first to hear me. It would probably be a pleasant thing to do.   Then he asks God to look on his face. Do you want God watching over you every minute of every day? Maybe you do and maybe you don’t. It probably depends on what you’re doing with those minutes. I hate doing things to please God or are you doing things that please your flesh? If you do anything that pleases the flesh, you might not want God to look on your face. Let’s make sure we’re always doing things to please God
You may have heard the chorus “Better is one day in your house than thousands elsewhere”. That chorus comes out of this verse.  If you haven’t heard it, CLICK HERE
He says he’d rather be a doorkeeper in the house of the Lord then to dwell in the tents of wickedness. So would I!  There is no better place to be than in God’s house. We have a wonderful doorkeeper (you might call him a greeter) in our church. He’s faithful, he’s pleasant, he shakes everybody’s hands and he opens the door for everybody. What a powerful, simple ministry he has.

11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield: the Lord will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.

12 O Lord of hosts, blessed is the man that trusteth in thee.

The writer says that God will not withhold any good thing from those who walk uprightly. What a promise!  He’s our sun and our shield, and He will give Grace and Glory. I know I need grace all the time, more than is probably my share. But I can depend on God to give me that Grace if I walk uprightly. If I walk according to His ways and not my ways. I walk in His statutes and not my own made-up rules. If I seek out the truth of His word and do my best to live by it, and not try to change it to fit my lifestyle. These are all things that go on in our world all the time and they still expect God to bless them. We need to walk uprightly if we want God to bless us.
The simple statement in verse 12 is a powerful one. Blessed is the man who trusts in you God. That’s all it takes to be blessed. When we trust in God we can go through any trial, any misfortune, any struggle, any health issue, any financial issues, any fatigue, any depression – the list is endless. We can go through anything if we trust God. And because we can go through those things as we trust Him we’re blessed beyond measure. There’s a world out there that doesn’t have anything to trust in except themselves and their fellow man.  and they are being let down over and over again. When we trust in the Lord He will never let us down.
Leave a Reply

