He Is God Alone

Psalm 86 A Psalm of David

Bow down thine ear, O Lord, hear me: for I am poor and needy.

Preserve my soul; for I am holy: O thou my God, save thy servant that trusteth in thee.

Be merciful unto me, O Lord: for I cry unto thee daily.

Rejoice the soul of thy servant: for unto thee, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.

David is back as the author of this psalm and we see some familiar wording from him. First he asked God to bow down and listen to him. Remember a while back we talked about God inclining His ear to David and how precious that was. When I picture God bowing down to hear my prayer, it overwhelms me.  The God of the universe, bowing down to listen to me.  WOW!   David says he is poor and needy. That’s interesting – because he’s the king! How many kings do you know that the poor and needy? I’m nit sure David is taking about being poor and needy the way you think he is. I believe he’s talking about his spirit being poor and needy.  To be poor and needy before God is a good attribute. I need to recognize the fact that I’m nothing without him. So when I come to God I need to come with nothing; to be poor and needy just like David in this psalm.

David asks God to preserve his soul because he (David) is holy. I couldn’t make that statement – God I’m holy so please preserve me. That’s a bold thing for David to say. But if we recognize that we are under the blood of Jesus, and Jesus is the atoning sacrifice, then when God sees us through Him, He sees us as holy. And as such He sees Christ’s righteousness, not ours. And he sees Christ’s Holiness, and not hours. So perhaps God does see us as holy if we are in Christ.
David asks God to rejoice his soul because unto God does he lift up his soul.  When we lift our souls to God, He will lift us up. It’s not a question of whether He will or not.  We can be guaranteed that when we are worshiping God and lifting up our soul to Him, He is going to raise us up in our spirit. I have witnessed that so many times I couldn’t count them. Even here in my living room, as I dictate this,, if I would start praising the Lord I would feel his presence come into the room because I’m lifting Him up, and I will sense Him raising me up. I have received more healing and deliverance in times of worship then in times of prayer. So if you’re trying to get a healing and all you’re doing is praying, and you’re not praising the Lord, I don’t know whether that healing will come or not!  We need to be lifting up our souls to Him

For thou, Lord, art good, and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee.

Give ear, O Lord, unto my prayer; and attend to the voice of my supplications.

In the day of my trouble I will call upon thee: for thou wilt answer me.

And why would God do all these things? Because He’s good and He’s ready to forgive. And He has more than enough mercy to go around to everybody who calls on Him. Isn’t that good to know? Aren’t you glad that the psalmist reminds us that God has plenty of mercy to go around? We don’t have to worry about Him runniang out! In this world it’s easy to so irritated that we run out of mercy. I can get to the point where I just want revenge or I want to be mad. But God is plenteous in mercy.  We never have to worry about Him running out.
David asks God again to give ear to his prayer, because in the day of trouble he will call on God and God will answer him. David trusted in the Lord to bring an answer and to listen to his prayer.  He knew that God was there just waiting for his cry. Remember, when we read about David, we know that he praised the Lord in the good times as well as the bad times, and he prayed to God in the good times as well as the bad times.  This is critical. We must remember to pray and praise God in the good times as well as the bad. God wants a relationship with us. What kind of relationship would you have with somebody if all you did was go to them with your problems and never just associate with them as a friend? Not very good would it be. Well, God’s the same way.  He wants us to be close to Him all the time, not just when we’re in trouble.

Among the gods there is none like unto thee, O Lord; neither are there any works like unto thy works.

All nations whom thou hast made shall come and worship before thee, O Lord; and shall glorify thy name.

10 For thou art great, and doest wondrous things: thou art God alone.

There’s no other God like our God and none of them do the work like He does. After all He spoke and said let there be light and there was light. He divided the continents,  He set the stars in place,  He made animals, and He made man. He parted the Red Sea and provided manna from heaven. There is no other God like the God we serve, and I’m glad I serve the God of the universe. I’m glad I serve a God that controls everything, that knows everything, that is everywhere and that is all-powerful. My God cannot be defeated. He will have the final say in everything.
Every Nation will come and worship him and glorify his name. Every person will worship Him and glorify his name. Some will not want to bow down to my God, but they will have to acknowledge that He is the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. They will have to acknowledge and worship Him for all that He has done because He is great and He is God alone. There’s no one that can stand before Him.  He has defeated all of our enemies and he will continue to do so because He is God alone
I love the song with that title!  Here’s a link!

11 Teach me thy way, O Lord; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart to fear thy name.

12 I will praise thee, O Lord my God, with all my heart: and I will glorify thy name for evermore.

13 For great is thy mercy toward me: and thou hast delivered my soul from the lowest hell.

I’m like David.  I want God to teach me His ways. You say how can God teach you? Well the first way is that I can spend time with Him. I can walk with Him, unite my heart with Him and as we Fellowship together the spirit of God will talk to my spirit and teach me about His ways.  This is the best kind of teaching possible. It’s almost like he is discipling me, as a father to his son. If you have never experienced this spiritual transfer I suggest you get alone with God and just be quiet and walk with Him.  And He will teach you His ways so that you will walk in the truth. The other way is to be in the word studying the Bible and getting to know God that way.  The more we know God the more we know His way
When you praise God, do you give Him your whole heart? David says He gives all of his heart. I think we can see that in the Psalms.  David is one that loves to praise the Lord, and I’m like that too. I love to lift up His name in praise and worship.  I do all I can to minister to Him because He’s a great God. He has had amazing mercy towards me. Going through this cancer, and the battles that I face, I keep saying that God has been merciful towards me. It could have turned out a lot worse but God has been merciful towards me. Not only has He delivered my soul from hell, but He’s delivering my body from cancer.  I’m getting better all the time and I know He’s going to bring me all the way through. I have no doubt about that.

14 O God, the proud are risen against me, and the assemblies of violent men have sought after my soul; and have not set thee before them.

15 But thou, O Lord, art a God full of compassion, and gracious, long suffering, and plenteous in mercy and truth.

16 O turn unto me, and have mercy upon me; give thy strength unto thy servant, and save the son of thine handmaid.

17 Shew me a token for good; that they which hate me may see it, and be ashamed: because thou, Lord, hast holpen me, and comforted me.

David talks about the enemy coming against him.  He knows that God is a God of compassion, and Grace, and long-suffering, plenteous in mercy and truth. He knows that God is on his side and even though the proud are coming against him, David trusts God to give him strength. We need to trust God to give us strength in the midst of our battles. And then we need to ask for that strength when we’re going through the battle. I think all too often we ask God to deliver us out of the battle instead of asking for strength to finish the battle. God would much rather help us through the battle then to deliver us from it. Because most of the time the battle is meant to help us grow. If He delivers us out of it, we will just have to go through a similar battle again so we can learn the lesson we were supposed to learn. So next time you’re in a difficult situation, or you’re sick, just ask God for strength to see it through. You could be in the center of His perfect will and not even know it.
Then David asks for a token, something that will show the enemy that God is on his side.  He wants them to see it and be ashamed. What would they be ashamed of? They’d be ashamed that they came against David,  who has the Lord on his side!  The Lord has helped him and comforted him in the midst of this battle and the enemy should be ashamed that they came against him in the first place. When we come through a battle, let’s make sure that we give testimony to those around us about what God has done. It will minister to them more than you’ll ever know.
Leave a Reply

